News Release

Indigenous Environmental Network

In this moment of overlapping crises, THRIVE offers a road map to a just recovery and regenerative future that not only invests in climate, infrastructure, jobs, and justice at the scale and scope necessary to address these crises, it also:

  • Prioritizes the strengthening of Indigenous and tribal sovereignty.
  • Upholds nation-to-nation relationships.
  • Strengthens consultation standards by codifying free, prior, and informed Consent (FPIC).
  • Recognizes the United Nations' Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.
  • Addresses tribal concerns regarding jurisdictional authority.

Right now, we have the once-in-a-generation opportunity to demand Congress go big and bold by delivering a comprehensive jobs and infrastructure package that meets our communities' needs, protects the environment for future generations, and upholds Tribal sovereignty.

Join the Indigenous Environmental Network’s Green New Deal team on Tuesday, June 15th at 7 pm ET | 6 pm CST | 5 pm MST | 4 pm Pacific for the current state of play on the Hill, how we win this political moment, and what comes next! Register at the link below and visit www.ienearth.org/THRIVE to learn more about #THRIVE4NDNCountry.

Tuesday, June 15th

7 p.m. ET | 6 p.m. CST | 5 p.m. MST | 4 p.m. Pacific

Register here

About Indigenous Environmental Network

Established in 1990, The Indigenous Environmental Network is an international environmental justice nonprofit that works with tribal grassroots organizations to build the capacity of Indigenous communities. Indigenous Environmental Network’s activities include empowering Indigenous communities and tribal governments to develop mechanisms to protect our sacred sites, land, water, air, natural resources, the health of both our people and all living things, and to build economically sustainable communities.

Learn more here: ienearth.org

Indigenous Environmental Network + RISE Coalition - logos