Skip to main content

News Release

Sealaska Heritage Institute


The enrollment period for Sealaska scholarship applications is open for the 2022-2023 school year.

The deadline to apply is March 1, 2022. However, Sealaska Heritage Institute (SHI) is offering a $50 incentive to those who complete their scholarship application on or before Feb. 1 and who are accepted as scholarship recipients; if selected as a recipient, the $50 will be included in their scholarship award. Applications must be filled out and submitted online at

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Awards will be made to Alaska Native Sealaska shareholders and descendants enrolled full- or part- time in accredited colleges, universities and voc-tech schools. Students must also have at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA. The scholarship program was founded by Sealaska and is administered by Sealaska Heritage.

Sealaska Heritage Institute Scholarship Application graphic

"In the past three years, we've been able to double our scholarship endowment to $20 million," said Sealaska President and CEO Anthony Mallott. "Our strong financial success allows us to make a greater investment in education and other shareholder benefit programs. Through the scholarship endowment, we are able to support close to 500 students who are investing in themselves every year and will create long-lasting benefits for our people and communities. I’m so proud of all our students and those advancing their careers with training and education."

Sealaska Heritage Institute is a private nonprofit founded in 1980 to perpetuate and enhance Tlingit, Haida and Tsimshian cultures of Southeast Alaska. Its goal is to promote cultural diversity and cross-cultural understanding through public services and events. SHI also conducts social scientific and public policy research that promotes Alaska Native arts, cultures, history and education statewide. The institute is governed by a Board of Trustees and guided by a Council of Traditional Scholars, a Native Artist Committee and a Southeast Regional Language Committee.