News Release

State of New Mexico Indian Affairs Department

The New Mexico Indian Affairs Department (IAD) on Wednesday announced new members to the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Relatives (MMIWR) Task Force, effective immediately.

On May 5, 2021, Governor Lujan Grisham signed Executive Order 2021-013, which establishes the next phase of the task force. The task force is comprised of representatives from across Tribal Nations, including state legislators and community partners. The task force will collaborate with tribal governments, tribal law enforcement, and the United States Department of Justice to determine how to address the crisis by creating partnerships and improving processes for reporting and investigating cases while supporting families and communities with resources.

The task force will consist of no more than 40 members, with the IAD Secretary serving as task force chair. The task force will develop a State Response Plan that addresses long-term solutions to MMIWR incidents in the state; this plan will be presented to the appropriate legislative interim committees and the Governor as soon as possible.

"The MMIWR task force is committed to building partnerships and relationships to ensure that the state's response to this crisis includes diverse voices and experiences." said Secretary Lynn Trujillo.

The Task Force members include:

  • Regina Chacon, Department of Public Safety, Missing Persons Clearinghouse
  • Henry Kaulaity, Special Agent, Bureau of Indian Affairs - Office of Justice Services
  • Jana Pfefiffer, New Mexico Office of the Attorney General
  • Delilah Tenorio, New Mexico Office of the Attorney General
  • James Maiorano, New Mexico Sheriff’s Association
  • Gerard Bartlett, Albuquerque Police Department
  • Deputy Chief Taft Tracy, Farmington Police Department
  • Sergeant Andrea Tsosie, Gallup Police Department
  • Andrea Romero, New Mexico Representative
  • Linda Lopez,
  • Mila Reinikainen, Sandia Pueblo Behavioral Health
  • Beata Tsosie-Peña, Santa Clara Pueblo
  • Pretty Water Duran, ICWA Manager San Ildefonso Pueblo
  • Koy Perea, Jicarilla Apache Nation
  • Ardena Orosco, Mescalero Apache Tribe
  • Anthony Mendez, Mescalero Apache Tribe
  • Phefelia Nez, First Lady of the Navajo Nation
  • Rita Capitan, Navajo Nation Crownpoint Chapter Representative
  • Amber Crotty, Navajo Nation Council Delegate
  • Michele Curtis, CARES Program, First Nations Community Healthsource
  • Kelly Gilbreth, Crossroads for Women/Americans for Indian Opportunity
  • Nicole Webb, UNM Hospital Trauma Nurse
  • Michelle Pent, Local physician specializing in public health and addiction
  • Darlene Gomez, Legal advocate
  • MaryEllen Garcia, NM Crime Victim Reparation Commission
  • Meskee Yatsayte, Missing and Murdered Diné Relatives
  • Jennifer Denetdale, Navajo Nation Human Right Commission
  • Angel Charley, Coalition to Stop Violence Against Native Women
  • Tracy J Madrid, Indigenous survivors of violence or family members of an Indigenous relative who has been a victim of violence
  • Petra Solimon, Indigenous survivors of violence or family members of an Indigenous relative who has been a victim of violence
  • Nolan J. Hall, Indigenous Youth Representative
  • Mattee Jim, HIV Prevention Coordinator, First Nations Community Healthsource
  • Becky Johnson, Indigenous survivors of violence or family member of an Indigenous relative who has been a victim of violence
  • Reycita Billie, Navajo Nation Tribal Dispatcher
  • Chuck Weaver, Santa Ana Pueblo Criminal Investigator
  • Chasity Sandoval, Nambe Pueblo Victim Legal Advocate

Advisory Members include:

  • Pamelya Herndon, New Mexico Representative
  • Ivonne Escajeda, League of United Latin American Citizens
  • Cheryl Yazzie, Community Grassroots Advocate for MMIWR
  • Lynda Thompson, MCO United Health Group
  • Jacqueline Kennerly, Member of Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

The MMIWR Task Force will host their first meeting for anyone interested on Thursday, July 29, 2021, 2:30-5:00pm, via Zoom. Register for the virtual meeting here:

For additional information visit,

State of New Mexico Indian Affairs Department - banner logo ID