News Release

24th Navajo Nation Council

Last week during subsequent special Naabik’iyati’ and 24th Navajo Nation Council meetings, the Council approved the reopening of 8 tribal parks through Legislation No. 0076-21. The legislation passed unanimously following the Navajo Nation’s change from “Orange” to “Yellow” safety status under COVID-19 safety protocols detailed by Public Health Order No. 2021-005.

“We want our people to remain self-sufficient and self-sustaining,” said Legislation sponsor, Council Delegate Paul Begay (Coppermine, K’ai’bii’tó, LeChee, Tonalea/Red Lake, Bodaway/Gap). “This Legislation ensures our Navajo-owned businesses and vendors have that opportunity with all of the updated safety protocols.”

Following final approval from the Office of the President and Vice President (OPVP), the following Navajo tribal parks, entities, and establishments will open:

  • Lake Powell Navajo Tribal Park
  • Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park
  • Monument Valley Welcome Center
  • Little Colorado River Navajo Tribal Park
  • Four Corners Monument and Tséyi’ Diné Heritage Area
  • Navajo Nation Museum
  • Navajo Nation Veterans Memorial Park
  • Navajo Nation Zoo

During the Special Naabik’iyati’ session, Linda Jackson, a Navajo Guided Tours representative in Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park said her employees have been severely impacted by the pandemic. 

24th Navajo Nation Council - banner logo 2020