Skip to main content

News Release

National Native American Hall of Fame

The National Native American Hall of Fame will hold its second annual Induction Ceremony on Saturday, November 2 starting at 6 p.m. at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Sponsorships are still available for the event.

Twelve individuals will be inducted this year for their accomplishments and what they have meant to Indigenous peoples across the globe. The 2019 inductees are: Lucy Covington (d. 1982), Colville; Ada Deer, Menominee; Louise Erdrich, Turtle Mountain Chippewa; Billy Frank Jr. (d. 2014), Nisqually; Forrest Gerard (d. 2013), Blackfeet; Hattie Kauffman, Nez Perce; Oren Lyons, Onondaga; Richard Oakes (d. 1972), Mohawk; Elizabeth Peratrovich (d. 1958), Tlingit; Pascal Poolaw (d. 1967), Kiowa; Mary Golda Ross (d. 2008), Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma; and Wes Studi, Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma.

“The 12 Native Americans who will be enshrined on November 2 are stellar examples of the individuals and level of accomplishment that our organization will honor now and into the future,” said James Parker Shield, Little Shell Chippewa, chief executive officer and founder of the National Native American Hall of Fame. “This will be an evening to remember.”

The National Native American Hall of Fame is an Indigenous 501(c)(3) non-profit organization serving Native Americans and Alaska Natives. Its mission is “to recognize and honor the inspirational achievements of Native Americans in contemporary history.” The all-Native Board of Directors includes members from the Blackfeet/Wichita, Comanche, Ojibwe, Northern Cheyenne, Sac and Fox, and Seneca nations. Future plans for the Hall of Fame include a traveling exhibit and an educational curriculum for youth focusing on the vast array of accomplishments by Native Americans in modern times.

Sponsorships for the November 2 Induction Ceremony are still available. Contact Chief Development Officer T.J. Hansell, Turtle Mountain Chippewa at or (602) 885-4454. For more information and updates, visit and @nativehof on Facebook.

National Native American Hall of Fame - banner logo