News Release

Indigenous Environmental Network

Years of resistance have led up to this moment. As Enbridge builds the Line 3 tar sands oil pipeline through Anishinaabe treaty land and the Mississippi Headwaters, now is a critical moment to support the movement to defend Indigenous sovereignty, water, and our climate.

The Treaty People Gathering is a national call to action, inviting allies to come to northern Minnesota. This mobilization is led by Honor the Earth, RISE Coalition, Indigenous Environmental Network, Giniw Collective, MN350, Minnesota Interfaith Power & Light, and many more.

Mobilization Website: TreatyPeopleGathering.com

June 5-8, hundreds will gather in northern Minnesota for a series of nonviolent direct actions to make a clear statement to the world that the days of tar sands pipelines and other fossil fuel projects are over. Only a major uprising will raise the fight against this pipeline to the top of the nation’s consciousness and force President Joe Biden to stop Line 3 — which is only proceeding with construction thanks to Trump-issued permits.

Today, we need you to join us and take these actions:

  • RSVP for a national call with frontline leaders on Tuesday, May 18 at 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT. Hear the gripping stories of pipeline fighters including Tara Houska, founder of the Giniw Collective; Dawn Goodwin, co-founder of RISE coalition; and Taysha Martineau, founder of Camp Migizi. Bring your questions and learn why you should come to Minnesota in June.

For more background information on the fight against Line 3 and current needs, visit StopLine3.org.

We’ll see you on the national call next Tuesday and on the frontlines.

About Indigenous Environmental Network

Established in 1990, The Indigenous Environmental Network is an international environmental justice nonprofit that works with tribal grassroots organizations to build the capacity of Indigenous communities. Indigenous Environmental Network’s activities include empowering Indigenous communities and tribal governments to develop mechanisms to protect our sacred sites, land, water, air, natural resources, the health of both our people and all living things, and to build economically sustainable communities.

Learn more here: ienearth.org

Indigenous Environmental Network - new banner logo 2021