Skip to main content

News Release

Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes

“It’s unfortunate the governor vetoed the public safety bill, which is an opportunity to keep unsafe drivers off Oklahoma’s roads through sharing information,” leaders of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Tribes said in a statement. “Our Five Tribes are committed to upholding public safety and we welcome opportunities to collaborate and work together to solve the important public safety challenges ahead of us all, but yet again, our governor continues to be uncooperative and unwilling. This bill, with language provided by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, and overwhelming support by the legislature, will keep drivers, citizens and communities safe for all four million Oklahomans in our state. Hopefully, the Oklahoma legislature will override Governor Stitt’s destructive veto.”

Cherokee Nation Principal Chief Chuck Hoskin Jr.

Muscogee Nation Principal Chief David Hill

Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby

Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Chief Gary Batton

Seminole Nation of Oklahoma Chief Lewis L. Johnson

Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes - banner logo ID