Skip to main content

News Release

Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head Aquinnah

Members of the Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head Aquinnah have spoken and have voted to re-elect long-serving Tribal Chairwoman to continue to represent her tribal community. Chairwoman Andrews-Maltais received 151 votes and her challenger received 127 votes.

When asked for a comment Chairwoman Andrews-Maltais said “I am so grateful to have the confidence and support of my people”. Noting, “their continued support energizes me and makes the hard work and long hours all worth it. I am so deeply honored.”

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Pictured: Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head Aquinnah Tribal Chairwoman.

Pictured: Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head Aquinnah Tribal Chairwoman.

In between her third and fourth terms, Mrs. Maltais was a White House Appointee in the Obama-Biden Administration, serving as Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs within the Department of the Interior. When asked how that experience helped her in her current capacity she stated “Working within the federal system at that level, providing advice to the agencies and Congress, to help shape federal policy, regulations and legislation impacting Indian Country provided a great opportunity to more fully understand the complexities of the government-to-government relationship and the trust and treaty obligations the United States owes tribes. It was an amazing experience, and I am grateful to have had that honor.”

She was re-elected to the position of Chairwoman in 2016 and 2019, and now again in 2022. When this term is completed, she will be the longest serving Chairperson for the tribe since federal recognition. When asked about that milestone, the Chairwoman said “It’s such an honor and privilege to serve your people, and, to have the time necessary to see some initiatives through is so rewarding. Being able to look back on accomplishments that will have elevated the lives and well-being of our tribal community and Indian Country as a whole is so rewarding. I am so grateful to have a position that allows me the privilege to do something that I love ... I simply cannot express how much it touches my heart, that my supporters came out to support me, so I could continue to support them. Kutaputush (Thank You)."

In other races:

Nefititi Jette won the vacated Secretary position, Linda Coombs Tribal Council Member at Large, Kristina Hook Tribal Council Member at Large and Camille Madison Tribal Council Member at Large.