About Indian Country Today

Indian Country Today

Mission statement, Masthead and About the company

Indian Country Today

Mailing address: PO Box 929

Phoenix, Arizona 85001

Newsroom:

5th Floor

Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Arizona State University

555 North Central Ave.

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Mission

Indian Country Today is a spacious channel that serves Indigenous communities with news, entertainment, and opinion.

Indian Country Today is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is the largest news site that covers tribes and Native people throughout the Americas. Our primary focus is delivering news to a national audience to your mobile phone. Indian Country Today is public media. We are a nonprofit news organization that sustains itself with funding from members, donors, foundations, and supporters. We also sell advertising in a variety of formats.

Indian Country Today, LLC.

Indian Country Today is a not-for-profit Limited Liability Company. Indian Country Today's board of directors are President Karen Lincoln Michel, Rebecca Crooks-Stratton, Larry EchoHawk, and Rhonda LeValdo.

Karen Lincoln Michel, Ho-Chunk

President, Indian Country Today

karenmichel@Indiancountrytoday.com

Sky Vasquez, Bishop Paiute

Vice President, Indian Country Today

svasquez@indiancountrytoday.com

Heather Donovan

Director of Sales

hdonovan@indiancountrytoday.com

Mark Trahant, Shoshone-Bannock

Editor

mtrahant@indiancountrytoday.com

Katie Oyan, Oglala Lakota

Managing Editor

koyan@indiancountrytoday.com

Jourdan Bennett-Begaye, Diné

Deputy Managing Editor

jbennett-begaye@indiancountrytoday.com

Patty Talahongva, Hopi

Executive Producer

ptalahongva@indiancountrytoday.com

Tomas Karmelo Amaya, Yoeme/A:shiwi/Rarámur

Creative Director

tomas@indiancountrytoday.com

Vincent Schilling, Akwesasne Mohawk

Associate Editor

vschilling@indiancountrytoday.com

Kolby KickingWoman, Blackfeet/Gros Ventre

Reporter-Producer, Washington bureau

kkickingwoman@indiancountrytoday.com

Aliyah Chavez, Kewa Pueblo

Reporter-Producer

achavez@indiancountrytoday.com

Joaqlin Estus, Tlingit

National Correspondent (Anchorage)

jestus@indiancountrytoday.com

Mary Annette Pember, Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

​National Correspondent (Cincinnati)

mpember@indiancountrytoday.com

Dalton Walker, Red Lake Anishinaabe

National Correspondent

dwalker@indiancountrytoday.com

Carina Dominguez, Pascua Yaqui

Correspondent

CarinaDominguez@IndianCountryToday.com

Quindrea Yazzie

Production assistant

qyazzie@indiancountrytoday.com

Kalle Benallie

Intern (Spring/Summer 2020)

kbenallie@indiancountrytoday.com

Meghan Sullivan

Rebele Fellow (Summer 2020)

msullivan@indiancoutrytoday.com

Indian Country Today

Phoenix Headquarters

Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Arizona State University

555 N Central Avenue, Suite 500

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Washington bureau, Indian Country Today

​Cronkite News Washington Bureau

Arizona State University

1800 I St NW

Washington, DC 20006

Alaska bureau, Indian Country Today

Gould Hall

Alaska Pacific University

4101 University Dr

Anchorage, AK 99508

Opinion Editorials

We welcome a wide variety of views in our opinion pages. To submit an op-ed send the material (and if possible, a photograph) to Opinion@indiancountrytoday.com

Press Releases

We also post press releases of interest to our readers. Please include a photograph. To submit a press release for publication (The Press Pool) send to PressRelease@indiancountrytoday.com

Freelance Submissions

Indian Country Today has a limited budget for freelance material from stories, photo essays, nonfiction graphic novels, videos, and broadcast packages. To pitch a potential story, send an email to editor@indiancountrytoday.com

Native Media

We welcome tribal media to publish their content with us. Email the text and multimedia components to nativemedia@indiancountrytoday.com

Editorial independence policy

Indian Country Today is committed to being transparent in the financial support it receives while also ensuring it maintains its editorial independence as a news organization.
We subscribe to standards of editorial independence adopted by the Institute for Nonprofit News, and add “tribes” to the sources from which we accept gifts, grants and sponsorships:
Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue. Acceptance of financial support does not constitute implied or actual endorsement of donors or their products, services or opinions.

We accept gifts, grants and sponsorships from individuals and organizations for the general support of our activities, but our news judgments are made independently and not on the basis of donor support.

Our organization may consider donations to support the coverage of particular topics, but our organization maintains editorial control of the coverage. We will cede no right of review or influence of editorial content, nor of unauthorized distribution of editorial content.

Our organization will make public all donors who give a total of $5,000 or more per year. We will accept anonymous donations for general support only if it is clear that sufficient safeguards have been put into place that the expenditure of that donation is made independently by our organization and in compliance with INN's Membership Standards.

Corrections policy

Corrections. Indian Country Today strives to be as accurate as possible. Corrections should be made in the original story. The deck headline should note that a correction. In the story there should be an explanation about why that correction was made. The error should not be repeated, but explain the circumstances to the reader.

Indian Country Today style guide​

Comments