Skip to main content

About Us

New ICT logo with IPM logo

ICT

An independent, nonprofit news enterprise

Mission

ICT is a spacious channel that serves Indigenous communities with news, entertainment, and opinion.

ICT is an independent, nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise. We reach audiences through our digital platform and as a broadcast carried via public television stations.

ICT covers Indigenous peoples.

ICT is owned by IndiJ Public Media, a 501 (c)(3) public charity under federal law that sustains itself with funding from members, donors, foundations, and supporters. ICT also has a variety of advertising, sponsorship, and underwriting opportunities. 

IndiJ Public Media's board of directors

President Karen Lincoln Michel, Ho-Chunk
Larry EchoHawk, Pawnee
Rhonda Le Valdo, Acoma Pueblo
Jeanne Givens, Coeur d’Alene
Wayne Ducheneaux, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe
Jessica Skye Paul, Nez Perce and Lakota
Derrick Beetso, Navajo Nation

Founder

ICT was founded as the Lakota Times newspaper by Tim Giago, Oglala Lakota, on July 9, 1981. The publication was based in Pine Ridge, South Dakota.

Background reading:
— A Letter From The Editor: Indian Country Today Enters a New Stage
— ICT at 40: 'We reported like Indians, from the ground up'
‘Don’t be afraid to stand up,’ the legacy of Tim Giago
— ‘Exciting time’ as new editor to lead ICT

ICT offices

Phoenix headquarters
Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Arizona State University
555 N Central Avenue, Suite 500
Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Washington bureau, ICT
Cronkite News Washington Bureau
Arizona State University
1800 St NW
Washington, DC 20006

Alaska bureau, ICT
Gould Hall
Alaska Pacific University
4101 University Dr
Anchorage, AK 99508

Staff

Karen Michel, Ho-Chunk
President and Chief Executive Officer, IndiJ Public Media
kmichel@ictnews.org

Mike Kellogg, Diné
Chief Operating Officer
mikekellogg@ictnews.org

Sky Vasquez, Bishop Paiute
Vice President of Operations
svasquez@ictnews.org

Jourdan Bennett-Begaye, Diné
Editor
jourdan@ictnews.org

​Shirley Sneve, Ponca and Sicangu Lakota
Vice President, Broadcasting
shirley@ictnews.org

Alicia Leigh Hauki, Native Hawaiian
Sponsorship Manager
alicia@ictnews.org

Heather Donovan
Director of Sales
hdonovan@ictnews.org

Nicole Huser
Business Manager
nhuser@ictnews.org

Dalton Walker, Red Lake Anishinaabe
Managing Editor
dalton@ictnews.org

Jason Begay, Navajo
National Editor and Coach 
jason@ictnews.org

​Dianna Hunt, Cherokee Nation descent
Senior Editor
dianna@ictnews.org

Patty Talahongva, Hopi
Senior Correspondent
ptalahongva@indiancountrytoday.com

Kolby KickingWoman, Blackfeet/Gros Ventre
Reporter-Producer, Montana bureau
kolby@ictnews.org

Joaqlin Estus, Tlingit
National Correspondent (Anchorage)
jestus@ictnews.org

Mary Annette Pember, Red Cliff Band of Ojibwe
National Correspondent (Cincinnati)
mapember@ictnews.org

Pauly Denetclaw, Diné
Political Correspondent (Washington, DC)
pauly@ictnews.org

Carina Dominguez, Pascua Yaqui
Reporter-Producer
carina@ictnews.org

Kalle Benallie, Navajo Nation
Reporter-Producer
kalle@ictnews.org

Chris Aadland, Red Lake and Leech Lake Ojibwe
Reporter, ICT and Underscore News
chris@ictnews.org

Aliyah Chavez, Kewa Pueblo
Managing Editor, Anchor, ICT Newscast
achavez@ictnews.org

Quindrea Yazzie, Navajo Nation
Newscast Editor, ICT Newscast
qyazzie@ictnews.org

Maxwell Montour, Gun Lake Pottawatomi
Newscast Editor, ICT Newscast
max@ictnews.org

R. Vincent Moniz, Jr., NuÉta and Oglala
Senior Producer, ICT Newscast
vincent@ictnews.org

McKenzie Allen-Charmley, Dena’ina Athabaskan
Producer, ICT Newscast
mckenzie@ictnews.org

Lisa J. Ellwood, Lenape & Nanticoke
Press Pool Editor
ljellwood@ictnews.org

Mark Trahant, Shoshone-Bannock
Editor-at-large
marktrahant@ictnews.org

Opinion Editorials

Voices in our "Opinion" vertical represent a variety of reader points of view. If you would like to contribute to ICT, email opinion@ictnews.org.

More information about our guidelines here: Submission guidelines.

Press Releases

We also post press releases of interest to our readers. Please include a photograph. To submit a press release for publication (The Press Pool) send to pressrelease@ictnews.org.

Freelance Submissions

ICT has a limited budget for freelance material from stories, photo essays, nonfiction graphic novels, videos, and broadcast packages. To pitch a potential story, send an email to editor@indiancountrytoday.com and dianna@ictnews.org.

Native Media

We welcome tribal media to publish their content with us. Email the text and multimedia components to managingeditor@ictnews.org.

Republication

Our policy is that our content is free for republication (ICT byline, photos or video). We believe in being a public service. Tribal radio stations can download the ICT Newscast from the ICT Soundcloud. Feel free to reach out to digital or broadcast if you need a photo or video that is difficult to download from the website.

Editorial independence policy

ICT is committed to being transparent in the financial support it receives while also ensuring it maintains its editorial independence as a news organization.

The company is a nonprofit, public charity with 501(c)(3) status. IndiJ Public Media operates as a public trust, we do not pay certain taxes. We may receive funds from standard government programs offered to nonprofits or similar businesses.

We subscribe to standards of editorial independence adopted by the Institute for Nonprofit News, and add “tribes” to the sources from which we accept gifts, grants and sponsorships:

Our organization retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and sources of all revenue. Acceptance of financial support does not constitute implied or actual endorsement of donors or their products, services or opinions.

We accept gifts, grants and sponsorships from individuals and organizations for the general support of our activities, but our news judgments are made independently and not on the basis of donor support.

Our organization may consider donations to support the coverage of particular topics, but our organization maintains editorial control of the coverage. We will cede no right of review or influence of editorial content, nor of unauthorized distribution of editorial content.

Our organization will make public all donors who give a total of $5,000 or more per year. We will accept anonymous donations for general support only if it is clear that sufficient safeguards have been put into place that the expenditure of that donation is made independently by our organization and in compliance with INN's Membership Standards.

ICT's Max Montour edits a newscast.

Donors

Thank you to our individual donors. In 2021 more than 7,335 individual donors contributed an average of $32.71 for a total of $236,632.

You can make a donation here.

ICT receives major support from ($10,000 and more)

Bay and Paul Foundations

Walton Family Foundation

Wend Collective

Racial Equity in Journalism

Facebook Sustainability Accelerator

MRG Foundation

Alaska Center for Excellence in Journalism

Decolonizing Wealth

Red Hawk Charitable Fund

News Match (via Institute for Nonprofit News)

Major individual and Phoenix 100 donors (at least $5,000)

Karen Michel

Mark and Holly Macarro

Yvonne Bushyhead

Tribal Solutions Group

Mark Trahant

First Alaskans Institute

Cedar Tree Foundation

Kirk Ahlberg

Schwab Charitable Funds

Corrections policy

ICT strives to be as accurate as possible. Corrections should be made in the original story. The deck headline should note that a correction has been added. In the story there should be an explanation about why that correction was made. The error should not be repeated, but explain the circumstances to the reader.

ICT style guide

ICT style guide​

273155882_2904726136491384_8376858772643117801_n

Where to watch the ICT newscast

KUAC (Alaska)

KTOO (Alaska)

KSKA / KAKM Alaska Public Media (Alaska)

Arizona PBS (Arizona State University)

GRBC (Gila River Tribe, Arizona)

Navajo Nation TV (Arizona)

KVCR-FNX (San Bernardino Community College District)

KEET (North Coast Public Media, California)

KIXE (Redding, California)

KPJK (NorCal PBS)

CPT12 (Denver, Colorado)

WTTW (Chicago, Illinois)

Lakeland PBS (Bemidji, Minnesota)

Pioneer Public TV (Appleton, Minnesota)

WHTVS (Choctaw TV, Philadelphia, Mississippi)

KMOS-TV 9 (University of Central Missouri)

New Mexico PBS (Albuquerque, New Mexico)

WNPI (Watertown, New York)

Akwesasne TV (Hogansburg, New York)

WTNG (Pembroke, North Carolina)

Prairie Public (Bismarck and Fargo, North Dakota/Winnipeg, Manitoba)

Western Reserve PBS (Kent, Ohio)

RSU-TV (Claremore, Oklahoma)

SDPB (State of South Dakota)

KSPS (Spokane, Washington/Calgary, Alberta)

UEN (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Wyoming PBS (Riverton, Wyoming)

ICT Newscast is also available on 97 community access stations through Free Speech TV on Dish, Direct TV, Apple TV, Sling and Roku.