Skip to main content

Highlighting Native leadership

From politics to policy, we hear from Tribal leaders past and present in this special edition celebrating Presidents Day.
Rep. Christina Haswood, Diné

Rep. Christina Haswood, Diné

It has been one year since Christina Haswood was sworn into office to represent district 10 in the Kansas state legislature, at age 26 at the time, she was the youngest in her role.

Pictured: Dr. Cynthia Chavez Lamar (Photo: courtesy National Museum of the American Indian)

Cynthia Chavez Lamar, San Felipe Pueblo

Cynthia Chavez Lamar is making history. She is the National Museum of the American Indian’s first female director.

Francine Compton, Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation, is president of the Native American Journalists Association for the 2020-2021 year. (Photo courtesy of Francine Compton)

The Native American Journalists Association is the nation’s leading professional organization for Indigenous journalists. Its mission is to support Native journalists and to hold the media accountable for reporting responsibly on Native communities. Francine Compton is a two term president of NAJA and she joins us to share the updates from the organization.

Principal Chief Chuck Hoskin Jr. (Screenshot from ICT Newscast on Jan. 25, 2022)

The U.S. Supreme Court is reconsidering the landmark case “McGirt versus Oklahoma.” Cherokee Principal Chief Chuck Hoskin Jr. tells us what this means for tribe in the state of Oklahoma.

Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Chairman Brian Weeden

Late last year, the Interior Department ruled that roughly 320 acres of Mashpee Wampanoag land will stay in its control. Chairman Brian Weeden joins us to talk about the progress of his nation.

Pictured: Former Navajo Nation Chairman and first President of the Navajo Nation Peterson Zah addresses a tribal energy summit in 2011.

Peterson Zah, Navajo Nation

Peterson Zah’s long career spans many sectors. Recently, Zah sat down with Navajo Freelancer Jaynie Parrish. She asked what stood out for him in his career.

Dr. Don Warne, Oglala Lakota

Dr. Don Warne, Oglala Lakota

Dr. Don Warne’s mission is to train Indigenous people in health fields. Patty Talahongva spoke with the associate dean at the school of medicine & health sciences, at the University of North Dakota.

Find more details on these interviews in today's show.


Today's newscast was created with help from:

Aliyah Chavez, Kewa Pueblo, is the anchor of the ICT newscast. On Twitter: @aliyahjchavez.

Shirley Sneve, Ponca/Sicangu Lakota, is vice president of broadcasting for Indian Country Today. Follow her on Twitter @rosebudshirley She’s based in Nebraska and Minnesota.

R. Vincent Moniz, Jr., NuÉta, is a producer for the ICT newscast. Have a great story you've just got to share? Pitch it to

Patty Talahongva, Hopi, is senior correspondent for Indian Country Today. Follow her on Twitter: @WiteSpider.

Kaitlin Onawa Boysel, Cherokee, is a producer/reporter for Indian Country Today. On Instagram: @KaitlinBoysel Boysel is based in South Carolina.

Drea Yazzie, Diné, is a producer/editor for the ICT newscast. On Twitter: @quindreayazzie Yazzie is based in Phoenix.

Maxwell Montour, Pottawatomi, is a newscast editor for Indian Country Today. On Instagram: max.montour Montour is based in Phoenix.

Mary Grace Pewewardy, Hopi/Comanche/Kiowa, is an intern at Indian Country Today. On Instagram: @mgpewewardy. Pewewardy is based in Phoenix, and enjoys playing video games.

Indian Country Today is a nonprofit news organization. Will you support our work? All of our content is free. There are no subscriptions or costs. And we have hired more Native journalists in the past year than any news organization ─ and with your help we will continue to grow and create career paths for our people. Support Indian Country Today for as little as $10. Sign up for ICT’s free newsletter