Skip to main content

Indigenous leaders elected

On the Wednesday edition of the ICT Newscast, we continue our Native Vote coverage of the 2022 midterm elections from San Bernardino, California. From major federal, state and tribal elections, Holly Cook Macarro recaps the major races
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

At the midpoint of President Joe Biden’s term, he’s appointed a record number of Indigenous people, including Interior Secretary Deb Haaland, Laguna Pueblo. Tribal elder and attorney Dick Trudell puts this in context.

U.S. Rep. and Chickasaw citizen Tom Cole won his reelection bid on Tuesday, making this upcoming session his 11th term in office. ICT’s Mark Trahant took a look at his storied legacy. He started with pulling clips from other Native members of Congress who had a message for Cole.

Cherokee citizen Markwayne Mullin made history Tuesday, becoming the first Native person elected to the U.S. Senate since Ben Nighthorse Campbell in 2005. Dacoda McDowell-Wahpekeche has this report.

Ranked choice voting is the new system used in Alaska used to elect its leaders. ICT’s Joaqlin Estus has more.

(Related: ICT's #NativeVote2022 coverage)

Congresswoman Mary Peltola was given a warm welcome at the largest gathering of Alaska Natives in the state. She is leading in her election on Tuesday in hopes of representing Alaska in the U.S. House for the next term. ICT’s McKenzie Allen-Charmley reports.

There are many ways to communicate news — and this election cycle, we saw more and more discourse on platforms like TikTok.

From coast-to-coast, ICT partnered with FNX to cover the 2022 midterm elections. As we just learned, there were some major stories to tell. ICT regular contributor Holly Cook Macarro was there.

A slice of our Indigenous world

  • Some races are still being counted but here is what we know at 8 a.m., PST. Oklahomans elected Cherokee citizen Markwayne Mullin to the U.S. Senate. In January, he will become the first Native person to serve in that body since Ben Nighthorse Campbell in 2005. 

  • Cherokee citizen Kevin Stitt won a second term as Oklahoma’s Governor. Many of the state’s tribal leaders endorsing his opponent, Joy Hofmeister.

  • U.S. Rep. Tom Cole was reelected to an eleventh term. U.S. Rep. Sharice Davids also won her re-election in Kansas.

  • In Minnesota, Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan won another term in office. Flanagan joined our election night live show and learned the news while in an interview with ICT’s Shirley Sneve.

  • The Navajo Nation will have a new leader. Buu Nygren has been elected the nation’s next president. His Vice President Richelle Montoya will make history in January as the first woman elected to Navajo’s executive office. The team defeated incumbent Jonathan Nez for the office.

  • There were some Indigenous candidates who lost their races. In North Carolina where Charles Graham was running for Congress. In Wyoming, Lynnette Greybull lost her race for Congress. In Hawai’i, Joe Akana lost his race to the U.S. House as did Mercedes Krause in Nevada. 

  • We are still closely watching New Mexico where representative Yvette Herrell is running for reelection. Her race has not been called as of Wednesday morning — and votes are showing a tight race.
  • In Alaska, representative Mary Peltola appears to be leading vote counts. Those ballot counts are expected to come in slowly given that the state is using its new ranked choice voting system. In California, John Mark Porter’s race has not been called as of Wednesday morning. Results show him trailing his opponent in that U.S. House race. Every time a new president is elected to office, they select and appoint a huge team of professionals to help them achieve their goals.  
Scroll to Continue

Read More

Today’s newscast was created with work from:

Shirley Sneve, Ponca/Sicangu Lakota, is vice president of broadcasting for the ICT Newscast. Follow her on Twitter @rosebudshirley. She is based in Nebraska and Minnesota.

Aliyah Chavez, Kewa Pueblo, is the anchor of the ICT Newscast. On Twitter: @aliyahjchavez.

R. Vincent Moniz, Jr., NuÉta, is the senior producer of the ICT Newscast. Have a great story? Pitch it to

McKenzie Allen-Charmley, Dena’ina Athabaskan, is a producer of the ICT Newscast. On Twitter: @mallencharmley.

Patty Talahongva, Hopi, works for ICT. Follow her on Twitter: @WiteSpider.

Maxwell Montour, Pottawatomi, is a newscast editor for the ICT Newscast. On Instagram: max.montour. Montour is based in Phoenix.

Kaitlin Onawa Boysel, Cherokee, is a producer/ reporter for ICT. On Instagram: @KaitlinBoysel.

Drea Yazzie, Diné, is a producer/editor for the ICT newscast. On Twitter: @quindreayazzie Yazzie is based in Phoenix.

Sierra Alvarez, Navajo, is an intern for the ICT newscast. On Twitter: @sierraealvarez.

Pacey Smith Garcia, Ute, is an intern for the ICT newscast. On Twitter: @paceyjournalist

Indian Country Today is a nonprofit news organization. Will you support our work? All of our content is free. There are no subscriptions or costs. And we have hired more Native journalists in the past year than any news organization ─ and with your help we will continue to grow and create career paths for our people. Support Indian Country Today for as little as $10.