Skip to main content

Indian Country Today

A Kiowa writer and literary icon of Indian Country received honorary membership in the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

N. Scott Momaday, 88, won the highly-sought Pulitzer Prize for his novel “House Made of Dawn” in 1969. In 2007, President George Bush presented the National Medal of Arts to Momaday at the White House.

On Thursday, the academy announced 18 new general members, voted in by the current membership. They included groundbreakers like Momaday, the first Native American to win a Pulitzer Prize, and 82-year-old avant-garde musician and composer Annea Lockwood, a New Zealand-born who said her election reaffirmed the “welcoming generosity of spirit” she had felt since moving to the U.S. in 1973.

In a 2021 interview with Indian Country Today, Momaday expanded on his writing: “I think you have the compulsion to write if you are a writer. You fall in love with words and language, and you're inspired by language. I find much inspiration in reading other people's writing. I got to know most of myself in their work. I was inspired by Emily Dickinson in particular, I think the greatest of American poets. She was clearly in love with language. I have the same kind of inspiration when I come into contact with language and things that are said and written in an exemplary way.”

(Related: A conversation with Kiowa Pulitzer recipient N. Scott Momaday)

The art institution is based in Upper Manhattan where general inductees have ranged from Henry James and Hannah Arendt to Dizzy Gillespie and Jasper Johns. Founded as an honor society in 1898, the academy announced last year that it was expanding its core membership of 250 artists in literature, music, art and architecture to 300 by 2025.

Mostly restricted to male, White artists in its early years, the academy now includes an increasingly broad range of members and has committed itself to reflecting the general population.

“Our new members do continue to reflect the diversity of American excellence, as you can see. I’m delighted,” says author and scholar Kwame Anthony Appiah, the academy's new president.

Besides Momaday, literature inductees include “The Joy Luck Club” novelist Amy Tan, the essayist, fiction writer and translator Lydia Davis, Pulitzer winner Elizabeth Strout of “Olive Kitteridge” fame, “The Things They Carried” author Tim O'Brien and the prize-winning poet Terrance Hayes.

Deborah Berke, dean of the Yale School of Architecture, was among the architects voted in, along with Thomas Phifer, whose many previous honors include an arts and letters award from the academy; Michael Van Valkenburgh, whose projects have ranged from Pittsburgh's Allegheny Riverfront Park to Pennsylvania Avenue in Washington, D.C.; and Mabel O. Wilson, whose Global Africa Lab project was honored by the academy in 2019.

“I look forward to joining a cadre of brilliant creators, so many of whom have been inspirational and influential on my own practice,” Wilson told The Associated Press, citing such current members as poet Claudia Rankine, visual artist Carrie Mae Weems and architect Elizabeth Diller.

In music, the new members besides Lockwood are Pulitzer-winning composers John Luther Adams and Jennifer Higdon, composer-bandleader David Sanford and two-time Grammy nominee Christopher Theofanidis. Visual artists elected were abstract painter Suzan Frecon, educator and conceptual artist Charles Gaines and cinematographer and filmmaker Arthur Jafa, whose credits range from directing the video for Ye's single “Wash Us in the Blood” to collaborating with director-screenwriter and then-wife Julie Dash on the acclaimed film “Daughters of the Dust.”

Nobel laureate Kazuo Ishiguro and British painter Bridget Riley were named foreign honorary members, joining previous honorees that include Nobel winner Alice Munro and German artist Gerhard Richter.

Indian Country Today - bridge logo

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Our stories are worth telling. Our stories are worth sharing. Our stories are worth your support. Contribute $5 or $10 today to help Indian Country Today carry out its critical mission. Sign up for ICT’s free newsletter.