19th imagineNATIVE awards announced: Michael Greyeyes receives ‘Auggie’ award

A screen capture of Michael Greyeyes portraying the role of Sitting Bull in the feature film, 'Woman Walks Ahead.' Courtesy imagineNative

Vincent Schilling

Additional imagineNATIVE awards include Best Dramatic Feature, Best Indigenous Language Production and Best Youth Work

On Sunday, October 21, 2018 the 19th Annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival announced their annual festival award winners. At the TIFF Bell Lightbox, the esteemed Sun Jury and Moon Jury considered film, video, audio, and digital media works from Canadian and international Indigenous artists to select winners in over a dozen categories with over $30,000 in cash prizes and in-kind services.

Throughout the Festival, imagineNATIVE also presented awards at the Industry Award Reception on Thursday, October 18 and the Bullseye Music Contest at The Beat on Saturday, October 20. One notable award given was to Film and Television actor Michael Greyeyes — known for Woman Walks Ahead (2017), Fear the Walking Dead (2017), Klondike (2014) and The New World (2005) — who received The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence.

​The ‘Auggie Award’ given to Greyeyes included a $1500 cash award sponsored in part by ACTRA National as well as individual donations.

In his acceptance speech, Greyeyes expressed the honor he felt in being recognized and thank August Schellenberg for teaching him so much of what he knew as an actor.

Auggie was a great teacher to me. He taught me the importance of rigor in our work and our craft. I'd like to thank all of my teachers because without them, where would we be? Every crew I have worked with, every director and every writer … they are all teachers. Every actor I work with teaches me something. Auggie also taught me the importance of family and how they teach us. So I would like to thank my family...This award means so much to me, so thank you all for teaching me,” said Greyeyes.

You can watch Michael Greyeyes’ acceptance speech here, at about the 43-minute mark:

The 2018 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Award Winners are:

Industry Awards Reception. Photo courtesy The imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival

Best Dramatic Feature

Toyon Kyyl (The Lord Eagle) by Eduard Novikov

$2000 cash award sponsored by Bellmedia

Best Indigenous Language Production

Wiñaypacha (Eternity) by Oscar Catacora

$1000 cash award sponsored by Indigenous Media Initiatives

The Kent Monkman Award for Best Experimental Work

Eatnanvuloš Lottit (Birds in the Earth) by Marja Helander

$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

Best Audio Work

Trans Mountain Pipeline, B.C. Wolf Cull and Dog Sled Massacre

by Crystal Favel

$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

Best Digital Media Work

Aeasi by Amie Batalibasi

$500 cash award sponsored by Unifor

Best Interactive Work

Biidaaban: First Dawn by Lisa Jackson

$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent

ANORI (Wind) by Pipaluk Kreutzmann Jorgensen

$2000 cash award sponsored by The CJ Foundation

The Ellen Monaque Award for Best Youth Work

A World of Our Own by Morningstar Derosier

$500 cash award sponsored by RBC & Humber College Aboriginal Resource Centre

The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Short Work

Biidaaban (The Dawn Comes) by Amanda Strong

$1000 cash award sponsored by VTape

Best Documentary Work Short Format

FAST HORSE by Alexandra Lazarowich

$1000 cash award sponsored by TVO

The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work Long Format

Marks of Mana by Lisa Taouma

$2000 cash award sponsored by CBC Docs

The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence

Michael Greyeyes

$1500 cash award sponsored in part by ACTRA National, and generous individual donations.

Sun Jury Prize

Sgaawaay K'uuna (Edge of the Knife)

by Gwaai Edenshaw and Helen Haig-Brown

Moon Jury Prize

My Friend Michael Jones by Ian Leaupepe, Samson Rambo

APTN/imagineNATIVE Web Series Pitch

Ryan Cooper and Adeline Bird

$30,000 in cash and $20,000 of in-kind prizing and mentorship presented by APTN and supported by Technicolor, Innovate by Day, William F White International, TIFF, WIFT-T, T.O. Webfest and new supporters Bedtracks and Bizable Media

NFB/imagineNATIVE Digital and Interactive Prize

Gail Maurice

The Rising Director Mentorship Award

Alexandra Lazarowich

Created in partnership with Laura J. Milliken of Big Soul Productions and with the support of the CMPA

The Rising Producer Mentorship Award

Darcy Waite

Created with the support of the DGC

Bullseye Music Prize


$10,000 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE and Slaight Music

The imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival is the world’s largest festival showcasing film, video, audio, and digital & interactive media made by Indigenous screen content creators. The Festival presents compelling and distinctive works from Canada and around the globe, reflecting the diversity of the world’s Indigenous nations and illustrating the vitality and excellence of Indigenous arts, perspectives, and cultures in contemporary media.



Twitter and Instagram: @imagineNATIVE

Follow Indian Country Today’s associate editor Vincent Schilling (Akwesasne Mohawk) on Twitter -@VinceSchilling

Email -vschilling@indiancountrytoday.com

Are you using the new mobile platform?Get Indian Country Todayon your phone.

Google Play (Android)