Daily Note 06/16/2020

Author:
Publish date:

AGENDA

Broadcast huddle @ 10:30 a.m. Eastern Time/7:30 a.m. Phoenix Time (Also 1:30 review)

Digital huddle @ 3 p.m. Eastern / Noon Phoenix time.

Karen is off today.

WASHINGTON NOTE

Lots of news today! The New Mexico shooting, Dartmouth weather vane, another Columbus statue coming down (maybe the 5th one, not sure if you count the one in San Diego that was taken to storage for safety), Navajo Nation police.

There’s a webinar tomorrow at 10am PT about the inflammatory condition in kids from the virus if anyone is interested in attending it.

-- Jourdan

BROADCAST NOTE

Imagine graduating from medical school and in your first year as a doctor, you find yourself treating patients in a global pandemic. Are you really prepared for such a situation? Preparing for all sorts of emergencies, including pandemics, is taught in med school but of course, there are differences in training and actually doing the work. Dr. Walt Hollow, Assiniboine Yankton Sioux, is an association professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Washington School of Medicine. He's also the president of the Association of American Indian Physicians. Through the years he has taught and mentored hundreds of Native medical school students who are now physicians. He is also the first Native American to graduate from the UWA medical school. He joins us to talk about the physicians' perspective on medical care in a pandemic. -- Patty