Skip to main content

The 19th Annual Native American Music Awards were held Saturday, November 2nd in front of a sold-out audience at the Seneca Niagara Resort and Casino in Niagara Falls, New York.

Several of the awards presented included a Jim Thorpe Sports Award to six-time champion WWE Mickey James, the Rising Star Award to elementary and middle school students called the Niijii Singers and Ogiichidaa Singers from Lac Du Flambeau Public School, and Wes Studi was inducted into the NAMA Hall of Fame.

As listed in the Nammy announcement, performances on the night awards included Joanne Shenandoah who performed "Missing You" and "We Will Rise Up" in honor of Murdered and Missing Indigenous Women and Girls, and won Best Indie Single, Reggae Rock group Innastate who took Debut Group of the Year, Female Pop singer Kelly Derrickson who won Best Music Video Narrative, The Cody Blackbird Band who took Duo/Group of the Year, and Shelley Morningsong, with her husband and musical partner, Fabian Fontenelle who won Best Blues Recording and the highly-coveted Artist of the Year.

Here is the full list of winning artists announced

Artist of the Year
Shelley Morningsong
Simple Truth

Duo/Group of the Year
The Cody Blackbird Band and Connor Chee
Live From White Horse Black Mountain

Debut Artist of the Year
Alex FireThunder
Makȟóčhe Kiŋ Theȟíla (Love For The Land)

Debut Duo/Group of the Year

Best Female Artist
Shon Denay
On The Rocks

Flutist of the Year
Vince Redhouse
A Distant Star

Best Male Artist

Record of the Year
One Earth World Fusion Music
Various Artists

Song of the Year
Walk In Beauty
Joseph FireCrow, Thomasina Levy, David Darling

Best Indie Single of the Year
We Will Rise Up
Joanne Shenandoah

Best Independent Recording By A New Artist
Heaven’s Window
Ava Rose Johnson

Best Blues Recording
Simple Truth
Shelley Morningsong

Best Country / Americana Recording
A Miner’s Prayer
Matt James

Best Folk Recording
Two Trees Standing

Best Gospel/Inspirational Recording
No Greater Love
Robby Cummings

Best Historical/Linguistic Recording
The Kindness Project
Stl’atl’imx Friends

Best Instrumental Recording
We Belong To The Music
Crazy Flute

Best New Age/Ambient/Soundscape Recording
Sacred Spiral
Painted Raven

Best Pop Recording
Women At War: Warrior Songs
Various Artists

Best Pow Wow/ Drum Recording
Red Dress Special
Young Spirit

Best Producer/Engineer
Ed Stasium
Fight Like A Woman - Sihasin

Best Rap/Hip Hop/R&B Recording
Native Pride
Nick Lone

Best Rock Recording
Fight Like A Woman

Best Traditional Recording
Spirit of Thunderheart

Best Waila/Chicken Scratch/ Recording
Music In The Soul
Native Thunder

Best World Recording
The Spiritual Warriors

Best Music Video Recording
Michelle Thomas

Best Concept for a Music Video
Twin Flames

Best Music Video Narrative
We Are Love
Kelly Derrickson

Best Music Video For A Live Performance
Children On The Rez
Blue Mountain Tribe

Best Rap Hip Hop Music Video
Break These Chains
Just Jamez

Native Heart Award
Jonny Lipford

Best Radio Program
Harvey Arden & Wisdomkeepers

Jim Thorpe Sports Award
Mickie James

Legend Award
Portugal. The Man

Rising Star
Niijii Singers and Ogiichidaa Singers
Hear Our Songs

Lifetime Achievement
Deborah Iyall

Hall of Fame
Wes Studi

ICT Phone Logo