Eve’s Fund president to speak about ThinkFirst Navajo at national injury prevention webinar

(Photo: Eve's Fund)

Press Pool

ThinkFirst Navajo is one of over 140 chapters of the ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation in the U.S. and the only one serving a federally recognized Indian Reservation

News Release

Eve's Fund

Barbara Crowell Roy, co-founder and president of Eve’s Fund for Native American Health Initiatives, will speak about ThinkFirst Navajo at a quarterly national injury prevention webinar sponsored by the Indian Health Services’ Tribal Injury Prevention Cooperative Agreement Program (TIPCAP) on Thursday, January 16, 2020 from 2 p.m. to 3 p.m. Eastern. The webinar is open to all interested individuals, particularly those involved in injury prevention programs in American Indian/Alaska Native communities. Information on how to participate is provided below.

The topic of her talk will be: “ThinkFirst Navajo: Successes and challenges of implementing a national evidenced-based injury prevention program serving students on the Navajo Nation.”

ThinkFirst Navajo - logo
(Image: ThinkFirst Navajo)

ThinkFirst Navajo is one of over 140 chapters of the ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation in the U.S. and the only one serving a federally recognized Indian Reservation. Barbara Crowell Roy will present on the mission and history of ThinkFirst Navajo, how it was established, and the unique aspects of ThinkFirst Navajo presentations and health educator teams. Ms. Crowell Roy will also discuss successes of the program, including funding mechanisms, awards, and community partnerships as well as the challenges of implementation. She will provide information on opportunities for starting a chapter of ThinkFirst in the communities of those participating.

To join the ThinkFirst Navajo Webinar January 16 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time (1p.m. Central/12 p.m. Mountain/11:00 a.m. Pacific/10:00 a.m. Alaska), use this online https://ucdenver.zoom.us/j/796444957 or dial in by phone at 1-669-900-6833 or 1-646-876-9923 and use Meeting ID number 796 444 957. To learn more about ThinkFirst Navajo and Eve’s Fund, visit evesfund.org

About ThinkFirst Navajo

ThinkFirst Navajo is a chapter of ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation and one of the most active in the country. ThinkFirst Navajo is the only one that operates exclusively on a federally recognized Native American Indian reservation, an area where injury rates are three to four times the national average.

Since the program was started by Eve’s Fund in late 2005, its VIP (Voices for Injury Prevention) speakers — all adult Navajos with paraplegia — have educated more than 58,000 Navajo school children on the Navajo Nation about injury prevention and distributed thousands of safety helmets. In 2019, the program started a new prevention initiative called: “Buckle Up Navajo Newborns” and donated 50 new cars seats to the Navajo Nation Highway Safety Department. Plans are underway to donate 50 more seats in early 2020.

In addition to providing culturally sensitive, free education to schools and youth programs on the Navajo Nation, ThinkFirst Navajo also provides additional peer mentoring, support, and training to the program’s VIP speakers.

About Eve’s Fund

Eve’s Fund for Native American Health Initiatives is a non-profit 501 (c)(3) organization that promotes hope and wellness for Native American youth. Dr. Robert M. Crowell & Barbara Crowell Roy founded Eve’s Fund in 2005 in memory of their daughter, Eve Erin Crowell. Since that time, the organization has developed strong community partnerships and created prevention and education programs impacting almost than 60,000 Native American children and young adults. For more information, go to http://www.evecrowellsfund.org.

Eve's Fund logo
(Image: Eve's Fund)
Comments

Events

FEATURED
COMMUNITY