White Mountain Apache general election set


The slate of candidates for the White Mountain Apache Tribe general election on April 3 is set.

The tribe's primary elections were held on Feb.6. Under White Mountain Apache elector rules, the top two candidates for each office move forward.

The candidates on the ballot in April will be incumbent Dallas Massey, (1,649 votes) and Ronnie Lupe (1,351 votes) for tribal chairman. Tribal vice chairman incumbent Frank J. Enfield received (1,761 votes) and challenger Wayland Burnette (1,316 votes). Council member for District 1 Jacob Henry received 248 votes to 159 votes for Isaiah Lee. Council member for District 2 Phoebe Nez garnered 215 votes and Cynthis Ethelbah got 168. The District 3 Council member primary race saw incumbent Margaret Baha-Walker earn 339 votes and Debbie Paxon received 297 votes.

The Apache Moccasin reported that the two seats in Distrcit 4 would be listed on the ballot in the general election. Candidates for those positions are Mariddie Craig and Nolan Clay, incumbents, Herbert Tate and Anthony Cromwell.