We Are The SEEDS: New Indian Art Market in Santa Fe

Photo courtesy We are the SEEDS./'We are the SEEDS' is a 4-day event taking place starting August 16th at the Santa Fe Railyards.

Alex Jacobs

4-day event ‘We Are The SEEDS’ held during Santa Fe Indian Market in the Railyard Park August 16-19.

We Are The SEEDS is a new 4-day event at the Santa Fe Railyard. This market will feature over 100 booths of juried high-quality contemporary and traditional indigenous art and a festive celebration that includes music, dance, fashion, literary, and culinary art. It is a family event in the grass covered Railyard Park that has children’s play areas, benches and picnic areas.

We Are The SEEDS will highlight indigenous women artists with their Honor Women Art Share program and will also have legacy artist booths celebrating the contributions of Native elders to the Native culture and the arts economy.

The stage includes performances by vocalist Jennifer Kreisberg, blues band Smokestack Lightning, R&B performer Honey, DJ/MC/traditional singer Brian Frejo, classical pianist Zachariah Julian, rock/blues band Son of Hweeldi and Desert Loops. There will be a preliminary Sunset Park Jam in the Railyard with DJ Brian Frejo and special guests on Wednesday August 16, 6 – 9pm.

We Are The SEEDS in Santa Fe will also feature activities for youth. There is a youth art workshop which will include painting canvas shoes with Narragansett/Choctaw artist Dawn Spears and a youth music workshop in which children will create an instrument and learn a special song with renowned Tuscaroramusician Jennifer Kreisberg and her son, Wakinyan Redshirt. Rise to Our Voices is a spoken word poetry workshop for indigenous women by Nicole Kabah Johnny which will include spoken word poetry performances to include The New Roots by youth activist, artist, and community leader Nolan Hall and Of Cartography by poet Esther Belin.

The Railyard Art Project has loaned three bronzes titled Anasazi, Embrace, and Corngrinder by Chiricahua Apache sculptor Allan Houser to be installed in significant locations around Railyard Park where they will remain for six months. Allan Houser’s family members, the Railyard Art Project committee and Seeds Market directors, Paula Mirabal and Tailinh Agoyo will be there with other dignitaries on Thursday, August 17 at 4:30 pm, at the close of the first day of the We Are The SEEDS market.

We Are The SEEDS was formed by Paula Mirabal (Taos Pueblo),Tailinh Agoyo (Blackfeet / Narragansett), and Sharon Lucero. All worked for SWAIA running various operations during Indian Market, and Mirabal and Agoyo were co-founders of IFAM, the Indigenous Fine Arts Market.

We Are The SEEDS is a charitable organization founded by a team of women who are dedicated to educating the world about art and culture as it relates to understanding indigenous people, the history of the United States, and who we all are as American people today. SEEDS produces cultural events that feature contemporary and traditional fine art, music, dance, fashion, literary, and culinary art.

For maps, artist info, workshop and performance schedules and parking info visit the We Are The SEEDSFacebook page or their website.

Full list of artists at We Are The SEEDS

Artists include textile weaver Leona Bia, jeweler Jake Livingston, sculptor Tony Lee (Allan Houser’s assistant), painter Rabbett Strickland, basket weaver Sally Black, katsina carver Tim Talawepi and fashion designers Loren Aragon and Jolonzo Goldtooth.

Painters: Bahe Whitethorne, Sr and Jr, Carlis Chee, Hillary Kempenich, Venaya Yazzie, Gilmore Scott, Damian Jim, Robert Martinez, Kevin Horace Quannie, Chamisa Edd-Belin, Mike Zillioux and Alex Jacobs.

3D artists: Carmel Lewis Haskaya, Sharon Lewis, Eric Lewis, Brenda Hill, Nancy Oakley, Peter Boome, Bill Glass Jr; and jewelers include: Tchin, Victor Beck, Kristen Dorsey, Roy Tenorio, Melbourne Pesata, Tonya June Rafael and Margaret Jacobs.

Other SEEDS artists: Mary Aitson, Gino Antonio, Atsatsa’ Antonio, Lottie Archuleta, Jeff Atencio, Nanibaa Beck, Romaine Begay, Daryl Begaye, Melesio Benally, Xavier Bitsui, Gina Brooks, Stacey E. Carr, Chamisa Edd, Santana Edd, Ray D. Garcia, Cheryl Grunlose, Lester Harragarra, Jeremy Harrison, Jimmie Harrison, J. NiCole Hatfield, Marsha Hedrick, Reuben Kent, Galen LaRoche, George Levi, Jay Jacob Livingston, CeeJaye Livingston, Betty Padilla, Susan Sacobie, Lakota Scott, Gwen Setalla, Josephine Seymour, Lorenzo Shirley, Dawn Spears, BJ Stepp, Mark Stevens, Shannon Stevens, Dino Sunaweuma, Mary Louise Tafoya, Tracy Tohannie, Manuel Weahkee, Sharon Weahkee, Daniel Weahkee and Charletta Yazzie.