Skip to main content

US sorry to American Indian tribes

  • Author:
  • Updated:

The United States has formally apologised to American Indian tribes for "ill-conceived policies" and acts of violence against them. Republican Senator Sam Brownback read the congressional resolution at an event attended by representatives of five Indian nations at the Congressional Cemetery in Washington: the Cherokee, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate and Pawnee nations.