Skip to main content

Tulalip Tribes re-elect Fryberg and Zackuse

  • Author:
  • Updated:

TULALIP, Wash. – On March 14, the Tulalip Tribal membership voted for two elected board positions on the Tulalip Tribes’ governing body – the seven-member board of directors. Following polling at the tribal center, incumbents Marlin Fryberg Jr. and Marie M. Zackuse were re-elected.

Election Results

(770 voters) Marlin Fryberg Jr. - 408

Mark Hatch - 208

Ronni Kona (withdrew) - 7

Jared Parks - 184

Tonia (Toni) R. Sheldon - 40

Dawn E. Simpson - 178

Marie M. Zackuse - 386

Officers of the board were also elected following the polling and during the annual General Council meeting on the same date. During voting from the floor of the General Council, tribal members re-elected the same officers as 2008; Melvin Sheldon Jr. returned as chairman, Marie M. Zackuse returned as vice chair, Chuck James returned as treasurer and Marlin Fryberg Jr. returned as secretary. The elected board members and officers were sworn in and took office at the April 4 board meeting.

“Saturday, March 14 the people of Tulalip spoke with their votes by re-electing Marie Zackuse and Marlin Fryberg Jr. Their experience and hard work ethic carried the day,” Sheldon said. “Also at General Council Treasurer Chuck James gave a financial presentation that showed our prudent planning and budgeting this past year. As a result we are in a financially stable position, however the economic downturn will require ongoing monitoring at all levels of tribal operation. Furthermore, the board will be working hard to capture stimulus money for our priority projects.”