Skip to main content

The ‘50 Faces of Indian Country 2016’ Magazine Available Now!

Indian Country Today Media Network is proud to announce its second “50 Faces of Indian Country” magazine, an annual celebration of the diversity and power of Native stars, athletes and leaders.

This year we honor a wide array of Indian country all-stars, including Cherokee movie legend Wes Studi, diabetes healthcare advocate and Mohawk tribal chief Beverly Cook, champion Lumbee gymnast Ashton Locklear and Standing Rock Sioux Miss Indian World Danielle Ta’Sheena Finn. They are just a few of the best and brightest lights gathered in this year’s online and print issues.

As ICTMN Publisher and Oneida Nation Representative Ray Halbritter wrote when he introduced our first ever issue in 2015, “Simply put, our young people deserve to learn about the individual and collective achievements of Natives presented in a visual, dramatic way.

“Indian kids need to see people like themselves and role models that they can aspire to be—lawyers, doctors, artists, business leaders, models and musicians. Indian strength and beauty has for too long been disregarded or shunned. By honoring these worthy luminaries, we hope to celebrate our audience, and inspire the future stars of 50 Faces as well.”

The “50 Faces of Indian Country” special print edition will be distributed at the National Congress of American Indian’s 73rd Annual Convention and Marketplace in Phoenix, Arizona on October 9, and at subsequent conventions in the months to follow.

Photos and profiles of the “50 Faces” will be rolled out over the weeks to follow at

The free online digital version is available now here.

50 Faces of Indian Country 2016 cover

The 2016 50 Faces of Indian Country (in no particular order):

Adam Beach

Daystar Rosalie Jones

Richard Peterson

Geoff Blackwell

Joy Harjo

Byron Mallott

Billy Luther

Tall Paul

Denise Juneau

Gabe Galanda

Dahkota Brown

Ben Jacobs

Henrietta Mann

Jessica Metcalfe

Kenny Dobbs

Dallas Goldtooth

Charlie Galbraith

Tonia Hall

LaDonna Harris

Ernie Stevens

Karen Diver

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Patricia Parker

Jo Ann Kauffman

Forrest Goodluck

Ashton Locklear

Ted & Russ Pedro

Jackie Pata

Lance Morgan

Sherman Alexie

Sean McCabe

Bunky Echo-Hawk

Beverly Cook

Louise Erdrich

Sonny Skyhawk

Shawnee Talbot

Brian Patterson


Tracy Rector

Chaske Spencer

Taika Waititi

Holly & Mark Maccaro

Matika Wilbur

Dave Archambault

Danielle Ta’ Sheena Finn

Wes Studi

Gyasi Ross

Tanaya Beatty

Daunnette Reyome

Martin Sensmeier

Sho Sho Esquiro

Follow ICTMN’s Arts and Entertainment, Pow Wow’s and Sports Editor Vincent Schilling (Akwesasne Mohawk) on Twitter -@VinceSchilling