Skip to main content

Tewaaraton Award Goes to Rob Pannell; 2014 Lyle Thompson's Year?

A story about the 2013 Tewaaraton Award, awarded to Cornell's Rob Pannell, while the first Native American finalist Lyle Thompson looks to 2014.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

This year the first Native American was named a finalist for the Tewaaration Award, which annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the U.S., but Indian country will have to wait until at least next year for the first Native winner.

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced Cornell University attackman Rob Pannell and University of Maryland midfielder Katie Schwarzmann as the 2013 Tewaaraton Award winners, presented Thursday at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Lyle Thompson, Onondaga Nation, the outstanding sophmore attack for the University at Albany, was also a finalist for the award. The superb Pannell was the No. 1 collegiate draft pick of Major League Lacrosse last year by the Long Island Lizards, and will make his professional debut tonight versus the Charlotte Hounds. 

Pannell completed one of the most decorated careers in college lacrosse, scoring a career-best 102 points to finish as the all-time leading scorer in NCAA history (354 points). He ranked third in the nation in points (5.67) and assists (3.06) per game, and registered at least one point in all 72 career games. A senior from Smithtown, N.Y., and a 2011 Tewaaraton finalist, Pannell earned a record third Ivy League Player of the Year and fourth first-team All-Ivy selection.

The winner of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award for Outstanding Player of the Year, Pannell led Cornell to the NCAA semifinals for the first time since 2010, scoring 22 points in three NCAA Tournament games. The four-time USILA All-American also holds the Big Red and Ivy League career scoring records. Pannell joins Max Seibald (2009) as Cornell’s second men’s Tewaaraton Award winner. He is the second Ivy League representative and eighth attackman to win the men’s Tewaaraton Award. His 102 points this season are the most ever for a Tewaaraton Award winner.

Reigning Tewaaraton Award winner Katie Schwarzmann gave a marvelous encore in her senior season, earning first-team Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-America honors for a third consecutive year in addition to her second consecutive ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Tournament Most Outstanding Player selections. The four-time All-ACC midfielder from Sykesville, Md., continued her run as the nation’s premier two-way midfielder, leading Maryland in ground balls and ranking second on the team in goals, assists and points.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

A member of the 2013 U.S. Women’s National Team, Schwarzmann earned her third consecutive IWLCA Midfielder of the Year award and led top-seeded Maryland to the NCAA title game. She finished her career ranked third all-time in program history in goals (228) and points (304). Schwarzmann joins Kristen Kjellman (2006-07) and Hannah Nielsen (2008-09) as the third two-time women’s Tewaaraton Award winner. She is the Terrapins’ fourth winner, following Jen Adams (2001) and Caitlyn McFadden (2010) with her 2012 and 2013 honors. Schwarzmann is the sixth ACC representative and the ninth midfielder to earn the women’s Tewaaraton Award.

“We are excited to recognize Rob and Katie, who completed two of the more remarkable careers in college lacrosse history this season,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “It was a joy to watch all 10 of our finalists compete, and we congratulate them all on an outstanding season.”

The five men’s finalists were Pannell, University of North Carolina attackman Marcus Holman, Syracuse University midfielder JoJo Marasco, Princeton University midfielder Tom Schreiber and Thompson. The five women’s finalists were Schwarzmann, University of Maryland attacker Alex Aust, University of North Carolina midfielder Kara Cannizzaro, University of Florida goalie Mikey Meagher and Syracuse University attacker Alyssa Murray.

Finalists were selected from a pool of 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 12 men’s and 10 women’s current and former college coaches.

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents scholarships to two students of Iroquois descent.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, visit