Skip to main content

Shy-Anne Cleans Up at Aboriginal People's Choice Music Awards

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Canadian singer-songwriter Shy-Anne Hovorka was the biggest winner at the Aboriginal People's Choice Music Awards, which were given out on Thursday and Friday nights in Winnipeg, Manitoba. The award show is part of the Manito Ahbee Festival, a celebration of Aboriginal music, arts, and culture.

Hovorka was nominated in six categories, and won all six: Best Music Video, for "Too Young, Too Late;" Single of the Year, for "The Glue;" Best Album Cover Design and Best Country CD, both for Interwoven Roots; Best Producer/Engineer; and Aboriginal Female Entertainer of the Year. She previously won the Aboriginal Female Entertainer of the Year award in 2010.

Although Hovorka was thrilled about the accolades, her mind was very much on her mother, who attended the awards ceremony just two days after undergoing surgery for breast cancer. "Even though she was in ... severe pain, she still ... got herself out of the hospital and came to the awards,” Hovorka said, according to CBC News. Hovorka was also excited that her single "Too Young, Too Late," which is about the danger of texting and driving, received attention in the form of the award for Best Music Video. "Yes, it's a music award and yes, it's a great accomplishment,” she told the CBC, “but when you're able to bring awareness to other things and honor other people ... that, to me, was more important than another award on the mantle."

Folk-rock singer-songwriter Don Amero won Male Aboriginal Entertainer of the Year -- his first win out of 19 nominations. "It feels great to finally get one, I’ve had a spot waiting for it on my shelf for a long time now," he joked, according to Net News Ledger. "The APCMAs do a lot to promote Aboriginal music and it’s nice to come together for this celebration. We owe a lot to all the organizers, and everyone who supports the music scene."

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Other winners included Derek Miller, for Best Blues CD; Tracy Bone, for Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year; Janet Panic for Best Folk-Acoustic CD; and Gabriel Ayala for Best Instrumental CD. Groups winning awards included LightningCloud, for Best Rap/Hip Hop CD; Sinuupa, for Best Rock CD; Indian City for Best Pop CD; and Bruthers of Different Muthers, for Best New Artist.

Shy-Anne's tally of six awards matched that of last year's big winners, the hip hop group Winnipeg's Most.