Skip to main content

President Obama Signs FEMA Disaster Declaration for North Dakota Flooding

[node:summary]North Dakota counties declared flooding disaster areas by FEMA.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

Storms in April and May ravaged North Dakota with floodwaters, and on Wednesday May 29, President Barack Obama issued a disaster declaration from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

“The President's action makes federal funding available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the flooding in the counties of Benson, Bottineau, Cass, Cavalier, Eddy, Foster, McHenry, Pembina, Ramsey, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Towner, Traill, Walsh, and Wells and the Spirit Lake Reservation, the White House said in a release. Funding is also available for cost-sharing hazard mitigation,” FEMA said in a release.

The money is meant to supplement “tribal and local recovery efforts in the area affected by flooding during the period of April 22 to May 16, 2013,” FEMA said.

Hundreds of people were evacuated in North Dakota and elsewhere in the upper Midwest because of flooding over the past month, the Christian Science Monitorreported. 

Scroll to Continue

Read More