Skip to main content

Obama Appoints Final Three to Indian Law and Order Commission

  • Author:
  • Updated:

WASHINGTON—The White House announced a number of key appointments today, including the final three members of the Indian Law and Order Commission. They are as follows:

Carole E. Goldberg
At the UCLA School of Law, Professor Goldberg directs the Joint Degree Program in Law and American Indian Studies and serves as faculty chair of the Native Nations Law and Policy Center. She is also a Justice of the Court of Appeals of the Hualapai Tribe in Arizona. In 2006, she was the Oneida Indian Nation Visiting Professor of Law at Harvard Law School, and she has written several books on federal Indian law and tribal law. Goldberg is also on the advisory board of Indian Country Today Media Network.

Theresa M. Pouley
A member of the Colville Confederated Tribes in northeast Washington, Pouley is currently the chief judge of the Tualip Tribal Court and an associate justice of the Colville Tribal Court of Appeals. Judge Pouley has served as the President of the Northwest Tribal Court Judges Association since 2005, and on the Board of Directors for the National Tribal Court Judges Association from 2003 to 2004. From 1999 to 2005, Judge Pouley was the Chief Judge of the Lummi Nation. In 2009, she worked with the Department of Justice as a facilitator for the “Tribal Nations Listening Session”, and in 2010 she facilitated a “Focus Group on Human Trafficking of American Indian and Alaska Native Women and Children” developed by the Office for Victims of Crime.

Ted Quasula
A member of the Hualapi tribe of northern Arizona, Mr. Quasula serves as the general manager of the Grand Canyon Skywalk, which is located on the Hualapai Indian Reservation. Mr. Quasula, who started his law enforcement career with the Flagstaff, Arizona, Police Department in 1972, served in the U.S. Department of the Interior’s Office of Law Enforcement Services within the Bureau of Indian Affairs for 26 years, holding the top job of the national program from 1990 to 2000. From 2003 to 2007, Mr. Quasula served as chief of police for the Las Vegas Paiute Tribe.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

With the addition of Goldberg, Puley, and Quasula, the roster of the nine-member committee is complete. The other six positions were appointed by Congressional leaders as follows:

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi:
Herseth Sandlin, former Representative from North Dakota
Earl Pomeroy, former Representative from North Dakota
Speaker of the House John Boehner:
Tom Gede, a principal of Bingham Consulting Group
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid:
Jefferson Keel, Lt. Governor of the Chickasaw Nation of Oklahoma and President of the National Congress of American Indians
Troy Eid, former U.S. Attorney for the District of Colorado
Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell:
Affie Ellis, Assistant Wyoming Attorney General

The full release is available at