Skip to main content

Native Cousins Nominees for Tewaaraton Award for Best Lacrosse Player

A story about Native American cousins Ty and Lyle Thompson being named two of the 25 nominees for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

The University at Albany Great Danes men’s lacrosse attackmen and cousins Lyle Thompson and Ty Thompson were named as two of the 25 nominees for the men's 2013 Tewaaraton Award, which was announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation on Friday, April 26. The award is presented to the top men's and women's collegiate lacrosse players in the country.

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. This is the Year of the Mohawk and the men’s nominees include a member of the Akwesasne Mohawk Nation in Ty Thompson and a member of the Onondaga Nation in his cousin Lyle Thompson. 

Lyle is having a sensational sophomore season. He leads the nation in points per game (6.85) and assists per game (3.92). The junior attackman already owns the UAlbany record for assists in a season with 51 so far and is one point away from breaking UAlbany’s Cort Kim’s record (89) for points in a season. One record that the Onondaga Nation, New York native has a chance of breaking at season's end is the NCAA single-season points record of 114 (currently at 89).

Lyle’s cousin Ty has been quietly finding the back of the net for the Great Danes this season. Having started all 14 games this season, Ty has a team best 41 goals and is fourth in the nation in goals per game with 3.15 as of April 21. Before being held scoreless against Siena on April 23, the Awkesasne Mohawk, New York native tallied 25 straight games of recording at least one goal, which was tied for the 23 best streak in NCAA history.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Twenty-five women and 25 men were selected as nominees, from which the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (5 women, 5 men) will be selected and honored May 30, 2013, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 9 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony.

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse players in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk ation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent.

To learn more about the Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Related story: 

Native Lacrosse Players Among Early Contenders for 2013 Tewaaraton Award