Skip to main content

National Aboriginal Hockey Championships Schedules Now Available

A story about the schedules for the National Aboriginal Hockey Championships being released.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

Many of Canada's top aboriginal teenage hockey players will converge upon the Kahnawake Mohawk community in Quebec beginning April 29 to decide national bragging rights.

The 2013 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships tournament has 16 confirmed teams. This national tournament showcases the elite aboriginal hockey players across Canada. Each team sends their top athletes from different Native communities from every province/territory. British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Ontario are all sending squads. And Quebec's Eastern Door and the North male and female icers will be on hand.


Oliveira has big-time knockout power.

Also taking part will be Team Atlantic and Team North. The former can include players from New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador while the latter will feature players from the country's three territories, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories.

The majority of the tournament matches will be staged at the Kahnawake Sports Complex, which can accommodate about 1,500 fans. Some contests will also be held in Brossard, 20 minutes east of Kahnawake. The games will be contested April 29-May 4.

The tournament's schedule has been released, and is available by clicking here. Use the page's drop down menu to select the team or teams you're interested in checking out. For the tournament's website, click here. They also have a Facebook page, here.

Read more

Kahnawake Mohawk Territory to Host 2013 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships