Skip to main content

Minthorn Wins Special Tribal Election

  • Author:
  • Updated:

A wealth of experience and the responsibility to step up are no match for a short, five-month term as Les Minthorn showed.

In a special election July 5, Minthorn was named chairman of the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation’s board of trustees. His 160 of the 478 votes led the other candidates: Antone Minthorn, 126; Julie Taylor, 90; and Aaron Hines, 73, according to the East Oregonian.

Minthorn was chairman of the tribe from 1974 – 1980 during which he helped write the tribes constitution and comprehensive plan in 1979. He also, served as treasurer from 1998 – 2007. Combine that with his service on the tribal gaming commission, the housing authority, the law and order committee, the farming and enterprise committee and the tribe gets a solid and knowledgeable chairman.

Minthorn focused his candidacy on returning the tribe to its core values.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

He will be sworn in on July 11 at the Nixyaawii Governance Center.