Skip to main content

Miles Thompson Wins 'Shot of the Year' at National Lacrosse League Awards

[node:summary]Miles Thompson Wins 'Shot of the Year' at National Lacrosse League Awards
  • Author:
  • Updated:

Miles Thompson was honored for a feat last night—a recognition that he did not even witness himself.?

The Onondaga Nation star captured the inaugural Shot of the Year trophy at the National Lacrosse League (NLL) awards ceremony held Tuesday, September 29.

?During the 2015 season Thompson was a member of the Minnesota Swarm, a franchise which has since relocated to Georgia.?

Thompson won his award for scoring a highlight reel goal against the then Edmonton Rush (this squad has also relocated, to Saskatchewan) on January 10. He scored while being dragged to the ground and not even facing the Rush net.?

Despite having an attacker on top of him, Thompson managed to get off an over the shoulder shot which found its way into the back of the opposition’s net.?

Thompson, a member of the Iroquois Nationals that captured the silver medal at the world men’s lacrosse tournament in Syracuse on Sunday, did not attend the NLL awards ceremony, held at the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre.?

RELATED: Iroquois Nationals Take Silver in Worlds; Canada Gets Gold, USA Bronze

Despite its name, this facility is in Oakville, Ontario, about a 20-minute drive west of Toronto.?

Swarm general manager John Arlotta accepted the award on Thompson’s behalf.

?Thompson was also one of three Natives that had been nominated as finalists for the 11 other NLL awards that were handed out. But none of these three individuals ended up winning in his respective category.?

Thompson, a 24-year-old who had been the third pick over-all in the 2014 NLL draft, was also a finalist for the Rookie of the Year award. ?

But Ben McIntosh, who starred for Edmonton, ended up winning this accolade. McIntosh led all rookie in goals (37), assists (49) and obviously points (86).?

Thompson, a former University of Albany standout, finished second among all first-year players in points with 62. He was also only behind McIntosh in two other statistical categories, goals (27) and assists (35).?

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Courtesy NLL/Rochester Knighthawks

Lewis Staats

Meanwhile, Rochester Knighthawks’ president Lewis Staats had been nominated for the NLL Executive of the Year Award.?

But this trophy went to Bruce Urban, the owner and governor of the Rush, the squad that won its first NLL championship this past spring in its 10-year history.?

Scott Loffler, the Buffalo Bandits’ director of lacrosse operations, was the other finalist for this award.?

Staats, a Mohawk from Six Nations in southern Ontario, is also the Knighthawks’ assistant general manager. He’s been with the Rochester franchise for seven seasons.

?Under his leadership the Knighthawks’ fan base increased this past year, with the addition of 320 new season ticket holders. The Rochester organization also received praise for a new digital marketing campaign.?

Meanwhile, Rochester owner Curt Styres, who is also the club’s general manager, was one of the three finalists for the NLL’s GM of the Year award.?

Courtesy NLL/Rochester Knighthawks

Pat O'Toole and Curt Styres

But this honor was bestowed upon the late Terry Sanderson of the Toronto Rock. Sanderson, who died this past November, is being credited for assembling the Rock team which ended up advancing to the NLL championship.?

Buffalo’s Steve Dietrich was the other finalist for the GM award.?

Styres, who like Staats is a Mohawk from Six Nations, built a squad that posted a 12-6 record during the 2015 campaign. Rochester ended up with an impressive 7-2 mark and also had a league-low of 173 goals against.

All of the NLL awards were voted upon by the league’s Board of Governors, head coaches and general managers.