Skip to main content

Lyle Thompson Is First Native Finalist for Tewaaraton Award

A story about Lyle Thompson, Onondaga Nation, the first Native American player to be named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award, annually given to the best male and female collegiate lacrosse player in the U.S.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. And one of this year's finalists has already made history.

On May 9 the Tewaaraton Foundation announced the 2013 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s finalists lists. Five men and five women were selected as finalists and will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian. Finalists were selected from a pool of 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 12 men’s and 10 women’s current and former college coaches.

“It is the ultimate achievement for these 10 finalists to have been recognized by the game’s very best coaches on the Tewaaraton Selection Committees,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “They are all worthy of the sport’s ultimate award, and we could not be more excited to have this group come to Washington, D.C., on May 30.”

Among that group is University of Albany sophomore midfielder Lyle Thompson, a member of the Onondaga Nation. Thompson is the first Native American to be named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award.

Thompson leads the nation in points (108) and assists (62) per game. He was named America East Player of the Year, first-team All-America East and the America East Tournament Most Outstanding Player. Thompson’s 108 points this season rank third in NCAA men’s Division I history, trailing all-time leader Steve Marohl (1992) by six points.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Thompson, along with Albany teammates and relatives Ty (cousin; 65 points) and Miles (brother; 67 points) formed the top-scoring attack group in the nation this year with 240 points.

Albany's incredible Thompson Trio

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents scholarships to two students of Iroquois descent. To learn more about the Tewaaraton Foundation, visit

Related story:

Native Cousins Nominees for Tewaaraton Award for Best Lacrosse Player