Skip to main content

Lyle Thompson Earns NCAA Division I Best Attackman Award

A story about Native lacrosse player Lyle Thompson winning the United States Inside Lacrosse Association, Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award, awarded to the top attackman in NCAA Division I.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

Forget about a sophomore slump. University at Albany men’s lacrosse attackman Lyle Thompson, a member of the Onondaga Nation, has earned the 2013 United States Inside Lacrosse Association Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award on Friday, May 24. Lyle became the first Great Dane in program history to be honored with a major USILA award. The Jack Turnbull Award is given to the top attackman in Division I Men’s Lacrosse.

A Tewaaraton Award finalist, Thompson put together one of the best seasons for an individual in NCAA men’s lacrosse history. The sophomore attack racked up 113 points on 50 goals and 63 assists, which was two points shy of breaking the all-time NCAA record set by Steve Marahol (114 points in 1992). The Onondaga Nation, New York native became the fourth Great Dane to be named the America East Player of the Year. 

The Tewaaraton Award will be presented May 30 at the National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Related story:

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Lyle Thompson Is First Native Finalist for Tewaaraton Award