Lawmakers recognized during ninth Indian Pow Wow


Delegate Roslyn C. Tyler, D-Jarratt, and state Sen. Frank M. Ruff Jr., R-Clarksville, were recognized Saturday during the ninth annual Indian Powwow for getting the Cheroenhakas (Nottoway) Indian Tribe of Southampton County recognized by the Virginia Assembly. Tyler and Ruff wrote legislation, which was passed, that led to the tribe’s recognition.