Skip to main content

Eight More States Get Waiver From No Child Left Behind Law

Eight more states are being granted a waiver to the federal No Child Left Behind Act, an act largely considered a bust in Indian country.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

Back in February President Barack Obama freed 10 states from the mandates of No Child Left Behind (NCLB), a federal law requiring all students to be proficient in reading and math by 2014. According to the Associated Press, U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan told reporters today that eight more have joined that list including Connecticut, Delaware, Louisiana, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio and Rhode Island.

The AP reported that 26 states and Washington, D.C. have applied for flexibility and can still receive waivers. NCLB was signed into law by President George Bush in 2002 and has been up for renewal since 2007.

Scroll to Continue

Read More