Skip to main content

EBCI Tribal Members Named to All-conference Team

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Five Eastern Band of Cherokee tribal members were named to the Big Smoky Mountain All-Conference wrestling team, according to Cherokee One Feather.

Levi Swearengin (Cherokee), Jaron Bradley (Cherokee), Nathan Craig (Robbinsville), Russell Bigmeat (Swain) and Spencer McCoy (Swain) each received the honor. They had already won titles at the conference tournament in Hiwassee Dam in February, where the Cherokee wrestling team finished fifth overall.

Swearengin took fourth place in the 1A state meet for the 126lb division. Both Swearengin and Bradley won conference championships, Bradley successful in the 152lb division.

McCoy, Craig and Bigmeat won conference championships in their relative weight divisions. McCoy was the 1A state champion at 195lb (a title he had previously won), Craig placed third in the state meet at 170lb. and Bigmeat, fourth in the state 138lb division.

Scroll to Continue

Read More