Skip to main content

Deadline for North Dakota Flood Disaster Aid Approaches

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Flood victims on the Spirit Lake Reservation in North Central North Dakota and residents of nine counties in the state have less than a month left to register for federal disaster assistance, reported the Associated Press.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency set the application deadline for September 22 for residents of the Spirit Lake Reservation and the counties of Barnes, Benson, Burleigh, McHenry, Morton, Ramsey, Renville, Richland and Ward.

CNN reported yesterday that FEMA's disaster relief funds are close to depleted. FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate said Monday that the agency's fund are below $800 million. "With less that $1 billion on hand, the agency is only authorized to pay for emergency repairs," CNN said.

Loan applications to cover disaster-related losses should also be submitted to the U.S. Small Business Administration by September 22, the AP reported.

Scroll to Continue

Read More