Skip to main content

Dartmouth to Give Cobell Honorary Degree

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Dartmouth will be giving out nine honorary degrees at it’s June 11 commencement ceremony—one of which will go to Elouise Cobell, the lead plaintiff in the class-action lawsuit Cobell v. Salazar, which was brought against the United States government for mismanagement of Individual Indian Money accounts. The case saw its conclusion December 8, 2010 when President Barack Obama signed legislation authorizing a settlement for $3.4 billion.

Cobell is a member of the Blackfeet Tribe and is the executive director of the Native American Community Development Corporation.

The other eight honorary degrees will be presented to former President George H.W. Bush, Emmy Award-winning actress Ruby Dee, former Dean of the Harvard School of Public Health Howard Hiatt, neuroscientist Michael Gazzaniga, alumnus Russell Boss, artist and Brooklyn native Roz Chast, former chancellor of New York City public schools Joel Klein and comedian Conan O’Brien—who will deliver the commencement address.