Skip to main content

Colorado Commission on Indian Affairs appoints two

  • Author:
  • Updated:

TOWAOC, Colo. - A Native American Rights Fund attorney and an associate dean at the Denver University law school were named to the Colorado Commission on Indian Affairs at its quarterly meeting June 4 on the Ute Mountain Ute Reservation.

Steve Moore of NARF, which is headquartered in Boulder, and Forrest Stanford, an associate dean at the DU School of Law, were appointed to one-year terms on the 11-member CCIA board, said Lt. Gov. Barbara O'Brien, who serves as the CCIA chair.

''These are dedicated individuals who have unique skills and background that can deal with the complex issues between Colorado and its Native American residents,'' she said in prepared remarks.

La Plata and Montezuma counties in southwestern Colorado were invited to appoint ex officio commission members. Lands of the Ute Mountain Ute and Southern Ute tribes, sovereign governments within Colorado's boundaries, are located in the two counties.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

''Including the county governments in our discussions on state-tribal issues will provide a better understanding of the impacts of our decisions,'' she continued in the release.

The CCIA includes Southern Ute Tribal Chair Clement Frost, Ute Mountain Ute Tribal Chair Ernest House Sr., their appointees, and several state departmental representatives. There are also five non-voting members.

The CCIA, created in 1976, was designed to be the official liaison between the state of Colorado and the two Ute tribes, the only two tribal nations within its boundaries, and also to work with off-reservation Native residents of Colorado.

Among the roles of the CCIA are reviewing legislation and legislative amendments that impact American Indians in the state; studying the existing status of recognition of Indian groups, tribes and communities; making legislative recommendations; and contracting for services and facilities to promote the welfare of Native people.