Skip to main content

Ballot Order for Cherokee Special Election Set

  • Author:
  • Updated:

The Cherokee Nation has released the ballot order for January’s special election to fill Seat 1 for District 1, the only vacant seat on the Tribal Council.

The seat includes Cherokee County and eastern Wagoner County and was vacated when Bill John Baker was elected principal chief. The candidates are vying for a seat that will expire in August 2013—the remainder of Baker’s term.

The candidates will be listed on the ballot in the following order:

Brandon Girty of Tahlequah, Raymond Vann of Tahlequah; Pam Iron of Park Hill, Geneva Reeves of Tahlequah, and Joe Byrd of Tahlequah.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the votes on January 14, a run-off election will be held February 18.

“It is a proud day for the Cherokee people when the democratic process works,” said Cherokee Election Commission chairwoman Susan Plumb.