Skip to main content

All Native American High School Academic Team Chosen

  • Author:
  • Updated:

The American Indian Graduate Center has chosen its All Native American High School Academic Team for 2010-2011.

According to The American Indian Graduate Magazine winners “are selected based on academic achievement, honors and awards, leadership and community service. Each student received a $250 honorarium.

“The objectives of this program are: to increase awareness of academic achievement of Indian high school seniors among their peers, Indian country and the public; to increase recognition of Indian student success and capabilities, as a positive motivation for pursuing academic excellence and higher education; to increase academic achievement and role models as positive influences in Indian country; to increase teacher, administrator, parent and community involvement by recommending, nominating and supporting student participation and to increase student participation in high school academic programs and pursuit of higher education,” wrote Marveline Vallo in the magazine.

The winners are:

  • Chynna Begay, Navajo
  • Paul Ferguson, Eskimo
  • Ashley Gilmore, Navajo
  • Tingleska G. Hallum, Santee Sioux Nation
  • Bradee J. Hawley, Fort Belknap
  • Deidra Jensen, Navajo
  • Derek Littlejohn, Choctaw Nation
  • Madeline Mays, Cherokee Nation
  • Cassandra M. Morley, Choctaw Nation
  • Brayden L. Young, Cherokee Nation.

To see pictures and read more about the team, visit the American Indian Graduate Center website.