Skip to main content

AICF gives Tribal College President Award to Dr. Robert Martin

  • Author:
  • Updated:

DENVER – The American Indian College Fund honored 33 American Indian scholarship recipients at its 2009-10 Student of the Year reception at the American Indian Higher Education Consortium Student Conference in Chandler, Ariz.

AICF President and CEO Richard B. Williams also presented Dr. Robert Martin, president of the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, N.M., with the Tribal College President Award for his contributions to American Indian education during his career. Martin received a $1,000 award.

The Students of the Year each received a $1,000 scholarship from the Castle Rock Foundation. LeoNora Garcia, an elementary education major at Oglala Lakota Community College, said of her career plans, “My passion for education has always been the drive behind my college success. As I continue forward, my goal as a future educator is limitless. My ultimate desire is to influence a community in a positive direction through cultural education and awareness.”

Students of the year named for each tribal college and university are as follows:

  • Stacey Daley, general science, Bay Mills Community College
  • Cole Wells, liberal arts, Blackfeet Community College

  • Dacia Tollefson, natural resources, Cankdeska Cikana Community College

  • Misty LaFranier, nursing, Chief Dull Knife College

  • Lauren Stoehr, education, College of Menominee Nation

  • Brian Jones, general studies, Diné College

  • Amy Wise, chemical dependency, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College

  • Kim Barrows, computer information systems, Fort Belknap College

  • Laci Schettle, human services, Fort Berthold Community College

  • Jennifer Yellow Hammer, business technology, Fort Peck Community College

  • Jenna Fox, education, Haskell Indian Nations University

  • Lindi Skin, accounting, Ilisagvik College

  • Tyler Tarpalechee, creative writing/new media, Institute of American Indian Arts

  • Ryan Koski, liberal arts, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College

  • Roberta Morgan, human services, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe Community College

  • Marie Lowry, education with STEM emphasis, Leech Lake Tribal College

  • Brooke Stevenson, nursing, Little Big Horn College

  • Sunshine Rave, business, Little Priest Tribal College

  • Shane Tsosie, veterinary technician, Navajo Technical College

  • Shona Campbell, business administration, Nebraska Indian Community College

  • Valerie Phair, business, Northwest Indian College

  • LeoNora Garcia, Lakota studies, Oglala Lakota College

  • Nicole McMullen, liberal arts, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College

  • Katie McDonald, environmental science, Salish Kootenai College

  • Sierra Bordeaux, business management, Sinte Gleska University

  • Sophia Renville, chemical dependency, Sisseton Wahpeton College

  • Audra Stonefish, environmental science, Sitting Bull College

  • Rosan Primeaux, business administration, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

  • Joshua Golden, allied health, Stone Child College

  • Sky Antone, creative writing, Tohono O’odham Community College

  • Adrienne Laducer, secondary science teacher, Turtle Mountain Community College

  • Sheila White Mountain, business administration, United Tribes Technical College

  • James Libby Jr., humanities and social science, White Earth Tribal and Community College

With its credo “Educating the Mind and Spirit,” the Denver-based AICF is the nation’s largest provider of private scholarships for American Indian students, providing more than 6,000 annually for students seeking to better their lives and communities through education at the nation’s 33 accredited tribal colleges and universities. For more information about the AICF or to make a donation, visit the Web site.