A Grim 175th Anniversary


On December 29, 1835, Cherokee leaders signed the New Echota treaty, and thereafter began the journey westward known as the Trail of Tears. Though today based primarily in Oklahoma, the Cherokee nation originally comprised parts of Georgia, the Carolinas and Tennessee. The tragic forced emigration was well documented in an episode of the PBS series We Shall Remain, directed by Chris Eyre:

Watch the full episode. See more American Experience.