2017 Manito Ahbee Festival Tradeshow, Pow Wow and Indigenous Music Awards and Nominees

Manito Ahbee Festival to host Indigenous Music Conference, Music Awards, Pow Wow and Tradeshow - Here's the list of 2017 IMA Nominees

In addition to its impressive pow wow, marketplace and trade show—and after a one year hiatus in 2016—the Manito Ahbee Festival in Winnipeg, Manitoba has announced the return of the Indigenous Music Awards, and an impressive list of 2017 Indigenous Music Awards nominees in several genres of musical categories.

The 12th annual Manito Ahbee Festival is May 17-21, 2017 and features the Indigenous Music Awards, Indigenous Music Conference, International Pow Wow, Casinos of Winnipeg Indigenous Marketplace and Trade Show, Getting Jiggy With It, Art Expo, Art Challenge and MTS Youth Education Day.

With entertainment such as Crystal Shawanda, Northern Cree, Fred Penner, Christa Couture, Felipe Gomez, Mariame, the must-see main event will be the Indigenous Music Awards.

This years’ Indigenous Music Awards is happening on May 19, at Club Regent Event Centre in Winnipeg. Beginning at 6:00 p.m., performers and nominees will walk the red carpet, the walk’s coverage is sponsored by Aboriginal Peoples Television Network. According to festival organizers, the 2017 Indigenous Music Awards received over 200 submissions from across North America, and this year's nominees were determined by music industry professionals.

Beaded offerings at the Manito Ahbee Festival Tradeshow. Flickr - Ginger Johnson

In addition to the IMA's attendees can enjoy beaded offerings at the Manito Ahbee Festival Tradeshow.

In addition to the nominees, the Indigenous Music Awards has announced that the group Northern Cree will be the recipient of the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award. The Alberta-based, Grammy and JUNO nominated pow wow group performed at the 2017 Grammy Awards Premiere Ceremony and JUNO Awards, and is also nominated in the Best Hand Drum and the Best Pow Wow-Contemporary Album categories.The 2017 Indigenous Music Awards, presented by Casinos of Winnipeg, will be hosted by award-winning artists Kimberley Dawn and Jerry Sereda, and will feature performances by Northern Cree, Felipe Gomez and more. [text_ad] On May 18, 2017, at 9:30 a.m., musicians and industry professionals will gather at the Delta Winnipeg Hotel for the 2017 Indigenous Music Conference to learn about the music industry and how to take their careers to the next level from panelists who are experts in their fields as a part of the Manito Ahbee Festival. They will learn about best practices for managing their music, touring, festivals, marketing, and promotion.

JUNO winner and country music star, Crystal Shawanda.

JUNO winner and country music star, Crystal Shawanda.

JUNO award-winner Crystal Shawanda will be the keynote to wrap up the conference.The 2017 Indigenous Music Awards nominees include:Best Blues Album • Blue Dog - Red-White & Blues• Cary Morin – Cradle to the Grave• Grey Gritt – Live at the NACC• Levi Platero – Levi Platero• The Gary Sappier Blues Band – The Gary Sappier Blues Band, Vol. 2 Best Country Album • Cory Cardinal – North of Town Roads• Jade Turner – North Country• JC Campbell – Four Letter Lie• Kimberley Dawn – Til The Cowboys Come Home• Renée Lamoureux – Dare To Be YouBest Folk Album • Christa Couture – Long Time Leaving• Logan Staats – Goodbye Goldia• Nadia & Jason Burnstick - Dream Big Little One• Nick Sherman – Knives and Wildrice• Twin Flames – Jaaji & Chelsey June Best Inuit, Indigenous Language, or Francophone Album • Frazer Sundown – Love is a War Dance • Nimuk – Nimuk & Friends• Rhonda Head – Kisakihitan• Silla + Rise – Debut• Skicinawatuwahtiq – Skicinawatuwahtiq Best Instrumental Album• Cris Derksen – Cris Derksen: Orchestral Powwow• DJ Shub – PowWowStep• R. Carlos Nakai Quartet – What Lies Beyond• Sean Beaver – NYD• Ziibiwan – Time Limits Best Pop Album • Awaken Aries – The Extraordinaries Anthology Vol. 1• Carsen Gray – CARSEN GRAY• Jace Martin – Mighty• Mariame – Bloom• Native Roots – Most High• Tara Williamson – Songs to Keep Us Warm Best Rap/Hip Hop Album • B. of Dakota South Records – OHHH! B.• City Natives – Nomadic• Chase Manhattan – Warrior DNA• Joey Stylez – #GREYMAGIC• J-Rez – Tipi Creepin’• Rellik – The Dream Best Rock Album• Digawolf – Great Northern Man• Julian Taylor Band – Desert Star• Kristi Lane Sinclair – Dark Matter• The Bloodshots – The Bloodshots• The Deeds – Late O’Clock Best New Artist presented by SiriusXM• Bryden Gwiss Kiwenzie – Round Dance and Beats• Carsen Gray – CARSEN GRAY• Lisa Muswagon – Buffalo and Rabbits• Mariame – Bloom• Ziibiwan – Time LimitsBest Radio Single • Black & Grey – Pretty Little Nightmare• Carsen Gray – Supernatural• DJ Shub – Old School is for Lovers feat. Morningstar River• Mob Bounce – All My Relations• NADJIWAN – All Those Years• Wolf Saga – Auburn Nights Best Music Video • DJ Shub – Indomitable feat. Northern Cree Singers• District Avenue – Revival• Jade Turner – Worth• JC Campbell – Four Letter Lie• Logan Staats – Ash’s Best Producer/Engineer • Crystal Shawanda, New Sun Records – Missy Knott/My Sister’s Heart• Derek Miller, Thru The Red Door – Logan Staats/Goodbye Goldia• Larry Mitchell, Indigenous Solutions, Inc. Studios – Indigie Femme/Justify• Murray Pulver, Murray Pulver – JC Campbell/Four Letter Lie• Tom Dutiaume, Hangar Studio – Kimberley Dawn/Til The Cowboys Come Home Best International Indigenous Release • Glenn Skuthorpe – See My World• LUMALTOK - Vukub Ja'Vil Ta Lumaltok / Siete Años entre La Neblina• Tasha T – Fire In Me• The Imbayakunas – Imbaya Full Flavour• Warren H Williams & Dani Young – Desert Water Best Radio Station Program – Promoting Indigenous Music• Indigenous in Music with Larry K• Unreserved: Radio Indigenous, CBC Radio One• IndiPOW with Layla Black, Jukasa Radio• Native Waves Radio/NDNs on the Airwave, Native Waves Radio/2Ro Media Inc.• ThinkNDN, 100.5fm CFROBest Hand Drum Album • Big River Cree – Those Old Back Trails• Bryden Gwiss Kiwenzie – Round Dance and Beats• Frog Lake Handgame Singers – Tribute to late Charlie Quinney• Northern Cree – It’s A Cree Thing• Shane Redstar – Loud and Proud Best Peyote Album• Edmond Poochay – Peyote Songs• Judy Curley/Pahsaknunk – Walking With The Spirit• Lance Crowe – Sacred Medicine• Utin Machiskinic – Comfort & Compassion• Wanita Bird & Joe PoorThunder – Water is LifeBest Pow Wow - Contemporary Album• Battle Hill – New Age• Blackstone – Celebration of Life• Northern Cree – True North Strong and Cree• Ottawa River Singers – Sing From The HeartBest Pow Wow - Traditional Album • New Agency – OLD STYLEZ VOL. 1• Whitefish Bay Singers – Aaw'pii 2016• Young Bear – Belongs to the People* Traditional categories to be presented at the Manito Ahbee International Pow WowMay 20th, 2017 at the RBC Convention CentreTickets for the 2017 Indigenous Music Awards presented by Casinos of Winnipeg are now available for $20.00 at Ticketmaster.ca.About the Indigenous Music AwardsPresented annually by Manito Ahbee Festival, the Indigenous Music Awards (formerly Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards) is the premier awards show recognizing the accomplishments of Indigenous recording artists and music industry professionals from around the globe.About the Manito Ahbee Festival Manito Ahbee Festival celebrates Indigenous arts, culture, and music in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. The 12th annual festival is May 17-21, 2017 and features the Indigenous Music Awards, Indigenous Music Conference, International Pow Wow, Casinos of Winnipeg Indigenous Marketplace and Trade Show, Getting Jiggy With It, Art Expo, Art Challenge, and MTS Youth Education Day.Follow Vincent Schilling (Akwesasne Mohawk) - ICMN’s Arts and Entertainment, Pow Wows and Sports Editor - Follow @VinceSchilling